Lippert Hydraulic Jacks - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Chassis and Running Gear
Click Here to Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2016, 10:33 PM   #1
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
Lippert Hydraulic Jacks

Guys I need some advice. Purchased my toyhauler 12 months ago a long way from home and am at the mercy of a local dealer. On Memorial Day we arrived at a campground and the hydraulic jacks would not lift it off of the truck. Thought it may be the battery but I turned on the generator and plugged it into the 50 amp and it still wasn't getting enough power. The display said there was 13 amps. We were able to get it off and on by little 3 seconds bursts of power... After dropping it off at the local dealer, it set for over two weeks before they looked at it. They called me yesterday and said it is fine and I can come hook it up to the truck and take it home. Showed up this morning and low and behold, same problem! They tried blaming it on my F350 plug (something about new trucks have a trickle?), my batteries, and it wasn't until after my wife told them that it worked fine until recently that they agreed that it was something electrical within the hydraulic system. Has anyone had issues with these jacks?
__________________

clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2016, 11:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,780
Oklahoma
Dealers! Always putting off what they don't know on something else. I raise my 3800 for hook up using the batteries or mains power. Lower the legs with the truck power and then level on mains or batteries.
Can't blame your problem on the truck..........
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 01:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,268
Wyoming
ok, take this for what it's worth... but I had a similar issue, where my jacks would only operate in 3-to-4 second bursts. Turned out, my battery was the issue. It would not hold a charge under load. Whether the 50amp power cable was plugged, or on the truck pigtail, it didn't matter. I replaced the battery, and I've not had the same issue since.

I know replacing the battery is an expensive trial & error exercise... but maybe you can remove yours and take it to an auto parts store to have it load tested.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 02:46 AM   #4
Member
 
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 17
Louisiana
Sounds like your battery switch was in the off position. If you are plugged in or have the genset running, the panel will operate but not enough amps will be available form converter to lift unit. The jacks will retract fine since they aren't under a load.
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 12:49 PM   #5
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
Thanks for the advice. Will certainly disconnect the battery and get it checked.

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk
clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2016, 05:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Okeana
Posts: 164
Ohio
Sounds like your circuit breaker that feeds the jack pump motor is bad. We discovered that problem with ours on the pdi. It's an auto reset breaker on the bus bar by the battery. If you stand close you can test it by operating the jacks. You should hear it snap when the jacks stop. After a minute or so it will auto reset and you're good for another 3-4 seconds. They are 5-8 dollars at most auto part stores. It's probably a 30 amp breaker. I carry a spare with me now.
__________________
2014 F-250 6.7 with Timbrens
2015 Voltage 3605
jeffwelsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 09:50 PM   #7
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
Thanks Jeff, it does make a popping sound which I'm sure is a connection somewhere.

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk
clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2016, 12:43 AM   #8
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
Spoke with the dealer today, they said it is the pump and Dutchmen agreed to cover it under warranty. Hopefully that will be the end to it.

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk
__________________

clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.