N-B question about generaor & a/c's & panel - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2014, 01:38 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
N-B question about generaor & a/c's & panel

We just got our rig home this morning. Tonight, my wife and I went out to clean it and put things away. It was 99 in there, so I fired up the generator and was trying to get the a/c's to run. The generator runs, and produces some amps to the main panel, but the a/c's won't kick on. On the main panel that shows A/C type, I believe the lights on the right side are supposed to light up to show you what you can run, but none of them are lit up when the generator is running. I can't seem to find anything in the manual. What am I missing??
__________________

__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 02:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Did you flip on the generator's breakers?
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 02:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Set Zone 1 & @ to cool or Auto Check Breakers in breaker panel. Also Generator Breakers. The Generator will not run all three A/Cs.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Did you flip on the generator's breakers?
Yes, numerous times. I have power to batteries and microwave, but not Water Heater or A/C's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
Set Zone 1 & @ to cool or Auto Check Breakers in breaker panel. Also Generator Breakers. The Generator will not run all three A/Cs.
10-4 on generator no being to run all 3 units.
I set Zone 1 to cool, but no hour glass comes on. Fan works, and Zone 2 as well, but Zone 3 shows error code of E7 (just testing the fan)

__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Here is a video showing how it cycles on and immediately turns everything off again.
https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/1...69674771364425
__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 06:29 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Post off HOC Forum...

Re: E7 error code on Front AC
Found the problem, A loose wire on the Neutral Bus bar which had a little melt down, cut out the bad section and all is working as it should.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 06:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by HornedToad View Post
Post off HOC Forum...

Re: E7 error code on Front AC
Found the problem, A loose wire on the Neutral Bus bar which had a little melt down, cut out the bad section and all is working as it should.
Awesome! Where is the neutral bus bar? Is that the bar to the right of the fuses?

So I trouble shot my issue, and it's the 3rd a/c that's causing this malfunction. If the breaker is off, the other 2 a/c's work fine, but if I flip the breaker to the 3rd a/c (which is the rear one on my rig), everything shuts off. (Yes, I am turning off the other a/c's first so I make sure it's not an overload issue from trying to draw too many amps).
__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 06:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
The Neutral Bus Bar runs across the bottom of the breaker panel in the photo. Check the breaker for the garage AC so you can isolate the neutral wire. There is also a bus bar for the 12V fuses, but the E7 code references the 120V power. Turn off the generator & unplug before you go touching any wires!!!

Looks like E7 is a catch all error code for a power loss that could be caused by numerous different issues...

Unless it is an obvious wiring issue and now that you've narrowed it down to the garage AC (it could be the wiring in the ceiling assembly which is going to be harder to get too)...
I would forgo using it until you can get it into the dealer.

Error Code:

  • E1 Loss of communication between the CCC 2 thermostat and all system power module boards. System will shut down.
  • E1 Loss of communication between the CCC 2 thermostat and an individual system power module board. The LED will display error code EI and the zone number that lost communication. Any additional zones that loose communication will blink in addition to the current zone.
  • E2 Open circuit or out-of-range indoor temperature sensor. All heat , cool, and dehumidify operations will be locked out. Manual fan operation will continue.
  • E3 Shorted Indoor Temperature Sensor. All heat, cool, and dehumidify operation will be locked out. Manual fan operation will continue.
  • E4 Open circuit or out of range Outdoor Temperature Sensor (select models). Heat pump and dehumidification operation will be locked out. Air conditioner, furnace, heat strip and fan operation can continue to operate.
  • E5 Open circuit or out of range Freeze Sensor. Air conditioner and dehumidification operation will be locked out. Heat pump, furnace, heat strip and fan operation can continue to operate but displays the last temperature set-point.
  • E6 Open circuit Humidity Sensor (Select Models). Air conditioner and dehumidification will be locked out. Heat pump, furnace heat strip and fan can continue to operate.
  • E7 Loss of 120 VAC power to all power module boards on the system. The system will shut down.
  • E8 Invalid zone configuration. The heat pump and heat strip DIP switches are both set to the ON position in one zone. Heat pump, heat strip, air conditioner, and dehumidify operation will be locked out in the affected zone.
  • E9 Invalid zone configuration. The dehumidifier DIP switch and either the heat pump or heat strip DIP switches are set to the ON position in one zone. Heat pump, heat strip, air conditioner, and dehumidify operation will be locked out in the affected zone.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 04:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Man, I don't have that problem. Thanks for posting that. SAVED!
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:13 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Elizabeth
Posts: 120
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboy View Post
Man, I don't have that problem. Thanks for posting that. SAVED!
Been a few posted threads I've wanted to save... or ear mark. How do we save a post we want to reference later?
__________________
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2007 Freightliner M2 106
Yamaha Rhino & YZ450F
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:20 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Thread tools up top. Subscribe for reference later. Or. Like this particular one. Screen shot with iPhone. Have a separate file for truck and trailer
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 12:29 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 183
Oklahoma
Is it possible that this is a load share issue? If the load share device is malfunctioning, would it cause this?
__________________
2010 F-450
2013 Voltage 3905
macman83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:04 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Jones
Posts: 68
Oklahoma
Will then generater run any two a/c units or the front two only?
Grdrod1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grdrod1 View Post
Will then generater run any two a/c units or the front two only?
It should run any two units, not just the front two. The issue is that the 3rd unit, when the breaker is on, it trips the panel and the gen won't run any a/c then. I have to have the 3rd a/c unit breaker off in order for the distribution panel to work. I think it's a short somewhere.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:23 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
ducmons,

If the short is not on the panel, check the other end at the ceiling assembly connection. The romex wiring to the rear AC also runs through Power Control System, I would guess behind the display.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 2.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	52.2 KB
ID:	1068  
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:43 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Okay, so I found a wire that was not connected and actually touching the wirenut on 2 black wires. But that didn't fix it. I called a mobile repair man because I had medical stuff this morning and I didn't want to mess with this. Took him 2 1/2 hrs, turns out the cables on the middle a/c and rear a/c were reversed, so there were multiple things happening. This issue is now fixed.

__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 09:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Good news. Hopefully it didn't cost you anything since this was wired incorrectly at the factory.
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 10:03 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
ducmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 133
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinecure View Post
Good news. Hopefully it didn't cost you anything since this was wired incorrectly at the factory.
I know if I had taken it to a local dealer they would have fixed it, but fat chance they do it before Thursday so we can go camping. So I called a mobile guy to come fix it. I paid, but hope to submit for reimbursement. Long shot, I know.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3200 EPIC III / All Weather / 17.5 Wheels wrapped with 18 Ply Conti's
2015 Denali Duramax 2500HD CCSW 4x4: bagged.
ducmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:07 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
jonthefireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin Metro
Posts: 69
Texas
A little off topic but still related to the generator....what kind of oil do you guys use? I seem to remember during the PMI that I was told only to use Castrol, but I can't find that anywhere on the Onan website. I'm needing to do an oil change, found the x-ref for a Wix filter but I'm stumped on the oil type and weight.
__________________
Fireman Jon and Laura
2014 Voltage V 3605
2014 Ram 2500 HD 6.4L Hemi
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic '07 Heritage Softail 2011 Polaris Sportsman 550 EPS
jonthefireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 03:48 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonthefireman View Post
A little off topic but still related to the generator....what kind of oil do you guys use? I seem to remember during the PMI that I was told only to use Castrol, but I can't find that anywhere on the Onan website. I'm needing to do an oil change, found the x-ref for a Wix filter but I'm stumped on the oil type and weight.
I buy everything to service my generator off the shelf at the Cummins Onan dealer parts dept, that's the only place local you can find the air filters. They'll need your model / SN number. Prices are comparable to the Auto Parts stores.

Any quality oil will do, the manual recommends a straight 30W or 15/40W depending on the operating temps. Watch out for the cross reference oil filter, I've gotten one that didn't fit before.

Cummins, Austin - Engine, Generator Parts & Service
__________________

__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×