I have a Norcold 1210 refrigerator that I turned on but won't strart UP - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2017, 10:47 PM   #1
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
I have a Norcold 1210 refrigerator that I turned on but won't strart UP

I took my 3200 out of storage and went to turn Norcold on. Lights everything set to Auto. Nothing happening. Anyone got any ideas. It won't run on LP and when switched to lp it doesn't even try to light.

Thanks Again....

TR
__________________

Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 12:32 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
http://rvrefrigeratorrepair.com/wp-c...d-Service-1210

This manual has the flow charts for troubleshooting.

Some basic questions. 1) Was GEN or Shore power on? 2) Did you "fill" the LP lines prior to switching to LP? (Purge the Air out of lines, does stove work, etc).

Start with those. It's probably something simple. To include shutting off by breaker, turning back on.
__________________

__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 01:17 AM   #3
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
I was on shore line.... Turned everything on and off. Went thru the message stages but not sure what it all meant. Checked LP, it wouldn't even try on either. Wondering if there is a overall reset or fuse on the unit. I saw where there was a fuse on panel but could not locate it. Pretty dxxx frustrating to say the least. Thanks....... for info
Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 02:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
Yes it's frustrating. I had a KZ with Norcold. I spent hours troubleshooting. New control board. It ended up being the optical sensor ( the push pads to change setting).

Section 3 has some quick troubleshooting tips. Page 73 has the info on how to access the on board diagnostics. I took couple on my dis mode. I would check the breaker at main distribution flip off then back on.

Three major inputs to system. 1) DC for control board only. 2) AC power within acceptable range. 3) LP with 11 in w.c.

In pic I am on step 4 , stored error message is failed to light. DC volts to low, and door open for more than 2 mins. Mine is working. I know these are true based on events of how I went through startup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	4160  
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 02:54 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
This pic is of diagnostics 7
Door is closed and light off. Thermistor is sensing input in range.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	4161  
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted View Post
I was on shore line.... Turned everything on and off. Went thru the message stages but not sure what it all meant. Checked LP, it wouldn't even try on either. Wondering if there is a overall reset or fuse on the unit. I saw where there was a fuse on panel but could not locate it. Pretty dxxx frustrating to say the least. Thanks....... for info
Manual pg 73 explains how to read codes. There are two fuses on MCB, F1 5amp DC control input. F2 120vac 30 amp for the heaters. It showed a resettable high temp fuse, but this would on go if unit running extended period.
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:05 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
RV Refrigerator Recall Notice by Norcold | Thetford Corporation

Info on Recall for this model. Check you S/N against their list.
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:12 AM   #8
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
Hell... I'm back at hello... Where is the main distribution panel for that flip swithch... tnanks for all the great info... I can just barely toast bread...haha
Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:19 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 76
Ohio
I was speaking of you main electrical panel. Flip AC breaker to fridge off. Then locate DC fuse and pull it. Wait 5 mins, this will clear EPROM (erasable).

Connect DC fuse first, then AC. Try again.
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 08:47 PM   #10
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
It looks like it may be the screen pad or switches. Boards are good.
Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2017, 10:20 PM   #11
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
We took board out and put new board in. Same thing... Now it turns on, stays on for a minute or so and clicks off. The guy thinks it is the front panel, thermistor, or switches... I guess I've got to find new person to look at it...
Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 07:17 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted View Post
We took board out and put new board in. Same thing... Now it turns on, stays on for a minute or so and clicks off. The guy thinks it is the front panel, thermistor, or switches... I guess I've got to find new person to look at it...
You can remove the light cover and disconnect the cannon plug for the light and thermistor.

The refrigerator will operate normally, without temperature control, with this plug is disconnected for diagnostic purposes.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 12:12 PM   #13
Ted
Senior Member
 
Ted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Glen
Posts: 68
Mississippi
We tried that.. took light bulb out and cover and its still turning off. Even disconnected one of the switches from the wires on door. Still turning off after a minute.
__________________

Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×