Furnace Issue - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2016, 10:52 PM   #1
Member
 
jelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Nampa
Posts: 26
Idaho
Furnace Issue

This may be a stupid question, but I'm going to ask anyway. I have been testing all of our systems in the new 282dbhs before we take it out this weekend. Thankfully, when we picked up the trailer they told us that the thermostat had to be in "Auto" mode so that the AC and furnace dont run at the same time. The problem I seem to be encountering is that when you set the furnace temp, in this case to 66 degrees, it obviously doesnt turn off at 66 degrees. It got so blasted hot in the trailer that we had to open the doors to let some cooler air in. Is there a magic trick to this system or do you just have to shut the darn thing off when not needed? I dont consider myself a newbie to RV's; however, this is the first one that we've had that has a digital thermostat that controls both the AC and furnace.
__________________

jelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 12:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by jelliott View Post
This may be a stupid question, but I'm going to ask anyway. I have been testing all of our systems in the new 282dbhs before we take it out this weekend. Thankfully, when we picked up the trailer they told us that the thermostat had to be in "Auto" mode so that the AC and furnace dont run at the same time. The problem I seem to be encountering is that when you set the furnace temp, in this case to 66 degrees, it obviously doesnt turn off at 66 degrees. It got so blasted hot in the trailer that we had to open the doors to let some cooler air in. Is there a magic trick to this system or do you just have to shut the darn thing off when not needed? I dont consider myself a newbie to RV's; however, this is the first one that we've had that has a digital thermostat that controls both the AC and furnace.
It should shut down when it hits the set point. Suffer through it until you can get it back to the dealer. While resting this weekend you might dig through the manual and look for the reset procedure.
Something is loose or not exactly correct with the thermostat and/or wiring.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 01:37 AM   #3
Member
 
jelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Nampa
Posts: 26
Idaho
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
It should shut down when it hits the set point. Suffer through it until you can get it back to the dealer. While resting this weekend you might dig through the manual and look for the reset procedure.
Something is loose or not exactly correct with the thermostat and/or wiring.
Thanks for the feedback. I'll definitely be in touch with the dealer when we get back and have them look at it if I am still having trouble with it. I figure its a new unit and you are bound to uncover issues for the first few outings. Not overly concerned right now. Thanks again!
jelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 02:11 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Sounds like either a loose connection, bad control board or bad thermostat. Mine works the way it should. If your thermostat is similar to mine you can program for a couple of different temperature spreads.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 02:28 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
My thermostat is about 3 degrees off. So if I want 66, I set it to 63. RV thermostats are typically not the best, and may cycle too frequently. With the heat, once it hits the desired themperature, the furnace should shut off, but the blower will run a bit longer to dissipate the hot air from the system. We've found that locations close to the furnace get hotter, ex. the bathroom, and locations farther away are colder, ex. garage with one vent. If you have floor vents with adjustable baffles, you can adjust amount of air coming out. If you don't, you can pick them up at places like Home Depot.
__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 07:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,715
Tennessee
Electric space heater ftw! Those crummy RV furnaces eat propane. Of course I only camp where there's shore power.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 08:22 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawniewest View Post
Electric space heater ftw! Those crummy RV furnaces eat propane. Of course I only camp where there's shore power.
One caveat to that... If the furnace circulates warm air into some hidden spaces and electric heater isn't going to do that. Airstreams are one brand that comes to mind where the furnace puts warm air into the holding tank area, so no furnace on them means frozen holding tanks.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2016, 11:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,715
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
One caveat to that... If the furnace circulates warm air into some hidden spaces and electric heater isn't going to do that. Airstreams are one brand that comes to mind where the furnace puts warm air into the holding tank area, so no furnace on them means frozen holding tanks.

Aaron
True enough, I keep forgetting not everyone has a 22ft camper.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
snakebitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Alvin
Posts: 728
Texas
Is it 22' dawniewest?

I keep quoting 8X20 = 160

So it's really 8X22? It's a mansion!
__________________
2017 Aerolite 213 RBSL-ND
2018 Wolf Pup 17RP Limited (Tiny THauler)
2018 F150 King Ranch 3.5 Beast
2003 Ram 2500 Cummins (can't kill this beast)
snakebitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 755
Arizona
I've never tried the Auto feature. If I want heat I set it to Furnace.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 04:20 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,715
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakebitten View Post
Is it 22' dawniewest?

I keep quoting 8X20 = 160

So it's really 8X22? It's a mansion!
It's a "213", so technically it's a 21' 3" box. Don't forget the square footage of the slide out dinette, that adds a few.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 10:43 AM   #12
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by azdryheat View Post
I've never tried the Auto feature. If I want heat I set it to Furnace.
The Auto is on the fan settings. If you have it set to Low or High when on A/C the fan runs constantly. If you leave it set on High or Low and switch to furnace apparently the A/C blower runs when the furnace comes on too.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:04 PM   #13
Member
 
jelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Nampa
Posts: 26
Idaho
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawniewest View Post
Electric space heater ftw! Those crummy RV furnaces eat propane. Of course I only camp where there's shore power.
I have an electric space heater as well; however, like it was also mentioned, I want to prevent the tanks from freezing this weekend. There'll likely be snow on the ground where I'm heading.
I'll continue to play with it this weekend and see if I can figure it out. If not, I'll be back at the dealer next week to have them look at it.
jelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:25 PM   #14
Member
 
jelliott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Nampa
Posts: 26
Idaho
Well it seems that the problem with the furnace was not a problem after all. I set the temperature and let it run. It has been holding steady at 67 . Outside temp is around 42. Trailer is very comfortable. I will try to post some pics .
__________________

jelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×