Furnace Blower Cycles - Then Quits - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2015, 12:56 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Hanmer
Posts: 5
Ontario
Furnace Blower Cycles - Then Quits

Just posting a troubleshooting tip i figured out the hard way. I just recently purchased a 2003 Colorado 31BK and was having an issue with my furnace. Furnace Blower Cycles - Then Quits. The furnace is an Atwood Model 8535-IV-DCLP.

Error Code was a single blink with a 3 sec pause = Air Flow Limit Fault

1. My first check was to clean all visible leads in the furnace compartment - No Luck
2. Second was to call RV guy - bring circuit board in these commonly go! So I did he tested it and said it was screwed. Bought new one $300 tax in.
3. Tried new board same problem
4. Decided to check the Sail Switch (see photo below). this is located behind the blower fan cowling facing you when looking into the furnace compartment.
5. Jumped switch - Furnaced cycled and starting to work = Faulty Sail Switch.
6. Checked the leads - corrosion present. Cleaned leads tested Switch by engaging by hand with cowling still off = perfectly working furnace.

Morale of the story careful to check all leads in the system before you drop $300 on a non-returnable electrical part. I will try again to get my $$ back as his test said my circuit board was faulty.

Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150513_122549 copy.jpg
Views:	559
Size:	58.4 KB
ID:	2151   Click image for larger version

Name:	hydroflame.jpg
Views:	2284
Size:	31.3 KB
ID:	2152  
Attached Images
 
__________________

YSBfireguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 01:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
Wow sounds like air in the line. In my old rv didn't have auto valve switch. When tank ran out of propane it would draw air in the line. I would change tanks and when I switched on heater fan would cycle than shut off. I could then loosened line where it connected furnace allow air to escape until propane smell. Try furnace again even then it might take a few cycles for furnace to ignite. Of course take precautions when dealing with propane
__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
8535, atwood, colorado, sail switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Popular Tags
#coleman 5th wheel 243 255bhsl kodiak 1700bh apsen trail 1700bh tv mount 1991 2018 atlas 2018 denali 2901rl 3305 ac problem aerolite aerolite 282 dbhs. 2018 air bag air conditioning alabama awnins bathroom battery charging bike rack btu caulk; gasket charger chassis coleman diagrams disconnect drain dutchman dutchman endurance 3006 dutchmen electrical electrical inverter electric conversion floor floor bounce flooring fresh water tank fuel station furnace gray water tank hot water heater insert interior inverter landing gear lights bad ground switch lost panel modification owners manual panels propane pvc valve replacement roof brackets satellite hookup screws slide manual open solar specs needed structural fault switch thermarest aening tires voltage wall water heater water lines winterize wiring diagram
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×