3rd AC Problem - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Heating, Cooling and Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2017, 11:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Durango
Posts: 127
Colorado
3rd AC Problem

I have a Voltage 3950 with 3 AC units. Everything runs fine on shore power. Recently I was running the generator, no shore power. Running the main (center) AC and the garage AC kept tripping the 30 amp breaker on the Generator (Onan 5500) after a few minutes of run time. I'm not sure where it start to identify the problem. The Generator should run 2 AC units with no problem. All 3 AC units have hard start capacitors.
__________________

__________________
2017 Voltage 3970, Epic, Full Paint
2015 Ford F350 DRW CC 4X4
2016 Kawasaki Teryx 4
4 grandkids, 1 Yellow Lab, 1 Kubota Tractor
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 02:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
i would start by elimination.. run one and then turn on a second one.. if it runs turn that one back off and start the third one.. see if the genset will operate 2 with no problem. When you find the one pulling too many amps then an ampprobe would be in order to see how many amps its pulling. It may be a bad compressor pulling too many amps.. the hard start caps should not affect the operation of the ac unit or how many amps its pulling running.
By doing the process of elimination your also checking for a weak breaker if two runs without issues.
__________________

Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 05:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
aguablanco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mesa
Posts: 116
Arizona
What generator do you have? Second, how many BTU's are the AC units. Hard to figure anything without specifics.
RichH
__________________
2017 Ram 1500 Tradesman EcoDiesel
2010 Dutchmen 24 FB-SL
Curt 10,000# WDH
4 out of 3 people have trouble with fractions.
aguablanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 08:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Durango
Posts: 127
Colorado
Gen is a Onan 5500. Main AC is 1500. front and rear are 13.5 One of the 30 amp circuit breakers on the Onan keeps tripping
__________________
2017 Voltage 3970, Epic, Full Paint
2015 Ford F350 DRW CC 4X4
2016 Kawasaki Teryx 4
4 grandkids, 1 Yellow Lab, 1 Kubota Tractor
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 10:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,163
Illinois
I have same set-up and run all three A/C's with no issues. You sure you don't have any other high draw equipment running at the same time? What happens when you run the main and the bedroom A/C? Breaker kick there as well?
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×