White tanks draining into black tank - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Plumbing, Water and Propane Systems
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2018, 04:30 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 2
Washington
White tanks draining into black tank

I have a 2018 Endurance 3456G fifth wheel. I've had it about 8 months. The last time we had it camping was about 4weeks ago. I drained the two grey tanks and the black tank. Rinsed out the black tank and let it sit for about 20 mins to make sure it was empty. I filled the white tank about 2/3 full as my wife wanted to have water to clean the rv with in the coming weeks. I stopped at the rv a couple of days ago, started the generator and found the the white tank is at 1/3 full and the black tank is also 1/3 full. I had the battery turned off the entire time. I didn't think the white and black tanks were directly connected. I'd like to see if anyone has had the same issue. Or maybe if someone has a schematic of the plumbing for this rv. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

Joshuar2059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 05:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 853
Colorado
Lemme get this right. What you refer to as the "white tank" is the "fresh water" tank? There had better not be any connection between the two. On both my trailers the fresh water tank has its own low point drain.

The tank level instrumentation is about as accurate as flipping a quarter and stating a level. They are that good!!

I would get to place where I could drain and don't connect the black water drain tank to the drain...just hold it and have someone open the valve, and stand by, take a look at what's coming out and how long it runs. That should be a rough means of knowing if it was a third or a tank or not.

I would also drain the fresh water tank and see if the instrumentation still says 1/3 full.

In my Voltage Epic 3800 there is a 160 gallon fresh water tank. Two 48 gallon grey water tanks, and two 48 gallon black water tanks. Drain all five of them, leave the drains open...and some will still read they have something in them.

Really need a better level indicating system. I sure like my new Mopeka TankCheck LPG Tank Check Dual Sensor with Monitor Kit a relatively accurate way of knowing how much propane is left in each tank.

Just thoughts,

Pirate
__________________

Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 07:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,374
Tennessee
Unless you verified it by draining the black tank, I highly doubt the fresh water tank is draining into it. If you went by the gauges then

In time you will learn to ignore those things(unless you like to do upgrades) It's not hard to tell where your levels are at without inaccurate gauges.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 10:52 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 2,961
North Carolina
Did you happen to leave the pump on? I have inadvertently emptied the fresh water tank that way more than once. If the pump was left on and one of your toilets runs it is possible, unlikely, but possible.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 04:27 AM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Oak Harbor
Posts: 2
Washington
So today I stopped the rv with a bore scope. I put the camera down the toilet and found the black tank is still empty. I guess one on the sensors must be malfunctioning or dirty. Thanks everyone for the information.
Joshuar2059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 77
Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joshuar2059 View Post
So today I stopped the rv with a bore scope. I put the camera down the toilet and found the black tank is still empty. I guess one on the sensors must be malfunctioning or dirty. Thanks everyone for the information.
I have a "wand" rinser for my black tank ...a few times a season and at the end of the season before winterizing I rinse the tank well with the wand .that is the only time my gauges ever seem to read empty is after a good rinse
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,158
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo View Post
I have a "wand" rinser for my black tank ...a few times a season and at the end of the season before winterizing I rinse the tank well with the wand ….that is the only time my gauges ever seem to read empty is after a good rinse
do you hook your "wand" up to the outside water and run a hose inside? I have a black tank "rinse" port but I am afraid it doesn't do a great job. I usually need to rinse and fill several times before ALL comes clean.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 03:54 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 77
Massachusetts
[QUOTE=franktafl;63280]do you hook your "wand" up to the outside water and run a hose inside? I have a black tank "rinse" port but I am afraid it doesn't do a great job. I usually need to rinse and fill several times before ALL comes clean.[/QUOTE

yes separate hose from my drinking water hose to be safe ...I un it in the door of camper and insert wand into toilet .. then go out and turn on water so as to prevent a mess in camper if it leaks .
I twist wand and raise ands lower in tank and it does a great job and gauge sensors operate again as they should
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 06:19 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,158
Florida
[QUOTE=Mongo;63281]
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
do you hook your "wand" up to the outside water and run a hose inside? I have a black tank "rinse" port but I am afraid it doesn't do a great job. I usually need to rinse and fill several times before ALL comes clean.[/QUOTE

yes separate hose from my drinking water hose to be safe ...I un it in the door of camper and insert wand into toilet .. then go out and turn on water so as to prevent a mess in camper if it leaks ….
I twist wand and raise ands lower in tank and it does a great job … and gauge sensors operate again as they should
I have five hoses. Two for the water supply (I have a water softener so I need one to feed the softener and one short one to run to the RV), one for washing the black tanks, one for cleaning the RV and one for a spare. IN addition, I have TWO heated hoses for winter use... WHEW!... Too many but I don't like using the heated hoses all the time, too expensive.
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.