Noob Owner - Holding tank Question - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Plumbing, Water and Propane Systems
Click Here to Login

Old 03-19-2018, 01:39 PM   #1

Alabama
Noob Owner - Holding tank Question

Hello All.

Complete honesty, I'm a noob owner of a 2017 Aspen Trail 2810BHS. We took our maiden voyage this past weekend and I have some questions that I'm having difficulty finding answers.

Our unit as 2 gray water tanks and 1 black water tank. However, there is only 1 gray water dump valve (right next to the black water dump valve).

Now, if you have 2 gray tanks and only 1 gray dump valve, what keeps the tanks separate? We had 1 tank completely fill up to the point of water was coming up in the tub but the other tank showed only 1/3 full. And we hardly used the shower. We mostly used the sink in the kitchen. This was a 2 day trip.

Logic would tell me there should be a shutoff valve between the 2 tanks to keep them separate.

But, if the plumbing is such that the 2 tanks are commonly joined with no shutoff valve, then they should equalize (assuming they are mounted on the same level in the frame).

And I tried looking on Dutchmen website for a manual, but I can't find anything specific to a model. Just a very broad generic manual. I'd really kill for a plumbing diagram / system description for my model.

Thanks all.

Les Strickland

Strickland0811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 01:52 PM   #2

Wyoming
I’m betting your 2nd grey tank dump valve handle is located somewhere under the frame of your rig.

I don’t have your model... but click on the link, and check out the photos in the thread here. Should be something like is shown.

http://www.dutchmenowners.org/forums...alve-5222.html

2018 BMW R1200GS RALLYE
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote