Wire Gauge for 12V Sockets - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2017, 03:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Wire Gauge for 12V Sockets

I'm going to be installing some 12V sockets in my RV like these - https://www.amazon.com/Automotive-Ex.../dp/B00PXAMYTC. These will support up to a 15A draw.

If I had just one of these on a circuit what gauge of wire should I use?

If I had two of these on a circuit what gauge of wire should I use?

Thanks!
__________________

WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2017, 10:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Occupant5143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 308
Arizona
This may help you.
https://www.tessco.com/yts/industry/...get_wired.html
__________________

__________________
2012 Dutchmen Denali 289RK
2013 Ford F250 Lariat - 6.7L Powerstroke Diesel
Occupant5143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 04:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Thanks Occupant5143,

Awesome resource. That chart answers the question. Thanks!
WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 03:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 454
Montana
Are you wiring your outlets all the way to the battery or tying them in somewhere else? If tying in somewhere else, you'll be limited by the smallest gauge between the outlets and the power source. I'd go with 12 gauge minimum if you can get a run all the way to the power source. When I plug my laptop 12V charger into the factory installed 12V socket, it pulls too many amps and the charger surges on and off due to voltage drop from too skinny of wiring. But when I plug it into the 12V power sockets I installed with 12 gauge wire, it runs fine.
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 03:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Thanks ewarnerusa,

I want circuits from the sockets to the power distribution panel but tying into an existing light/stereo circuit may be the only option in some cases. Not for sure what the gauge is there. For heavier amperage loads I should be able to tie a couple sockets into the power distribution panel below the fridge. If I see voltage drops when I tie into the power distribution panel I'll try running a line directly to the battery bank. I wouldn't be surprised if there is a problem after seeing how they wired in the water heater (attached image)

BTW, where did you find a 12V notebook charger? I haven't been able to find one for my DELL notebook.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	waterheaterinstall.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	4098  
WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 08:57 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,137
North Carolina
My Dell came with one!

Which Dell do you have? I have a Lattitude E6430, I have the cigarette lighter style cord for it. Parts-People.com is a good place for Dell parts.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2017, 10:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 454
Montana
I bought mine off Amazon.com for a Dell XPS laptop.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 06:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Thanks wahoonc,

I have an Inspiron 7559. It uses a quad core (8 hyper-threaded cores) processor, has 4K video, and a 130W power brick. I found an adapter at https://www.parts-people.com/index.p...n=item&id=5149 but it is only 65W and does not have my model in the compatible list.

I use this guy for heavy lifting - image processing and running virtual machines. Now that I've become more cognizant of the power required for the 7559 I might bring along another low power Toshiba net book I have. Biggest problem with it is the soldered on 2GB of RAM and 32GB SSD. Windows 10 with updates consumes almost all of the RAM and SSD. Maybe I'll install a light variant of LINUX and use the Toshiba for casual web browsing.
WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 06:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Thanks ewarnerusa,

That one unfortunately doesn't work either for my inspiron 7559. As the 7559 uses so much power I might use my Toshiba or tablet for casual web browsing.
WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2017, 06:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,817
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaBeFree View Post
Thanks wahoonc,

I have an Inspiron 7559. It uses a quad core (8 hyper-threaded cores) processor, has 4K video, and a 130W power brick. I found an adapter at https://www.parts-people.com/index.p...n=item&id=5149 but it is only 65W and does not have my model in the compatible list.


I use this guy for heavy lifting - image processing and running virtual machines. Now that I've become more cognizant of the power required for the 7559 I might bring along another low power Toshiba net book I have. Biggest problem with it is the soldered on 2GB of RAM and 32GB SSD. Windows 10 with updates consumes almost all of the RAM and SSD. Maybe I'll install a light variant of LINUX and use the Toshiba for casual web browsing.
Looky

12 vdc step up transformer | eBay
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.