Wifi Ranger - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2016, 01:17 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Farmington
Posts: 2
New Mexico
Wifi Ranger

I have a 2014 3905 Voltage! I recently discovered a sky wifi ranger on the roof but didn't know of this when purchased. My problem is I can not find the device on mywifiranger.com (webpage to pair the device) also nothing comes up on wifi connections! Does anyone have any ideas or have had any simal problems, oh ya and did I mention the dealer I purchased from will not help me since I am out of 1 yr warranty! Thanks in advance.
__________________

Zmiller04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 01:39 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
You need to be connected to the Ranger to use the address you posted...

Look for wireless signals. You want to find one that is named Pvt.WiFiRanger.xxxx (the x's are the serial number)

It should ask for a password...it will be changemenowxxxx (x's are the same as above).

Now use the address you stated above, you should be able to get into the control panel. To power off and on, my unit is operated off the 5th fuse (labeled bathroom). There is a factory reset procedure, but is a rather long process, but try the other stuff first.

Also, the WiFiRanger folks are very helpful, hop on their website and shoot them some questions. We have been using ours quite extensively at our current campground....going on 6 months now.

Cale
__________________

__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 03:02 AM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Farmington
Posts: 2
New Mexico
Hey thanks for the info, I will give that a try!
Zmiller04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2016, 07:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
WiFi Ranger User Manual Rev 10

What Cale says is correct. Also, here is the latest User Manual
Attached Files
File Type: pdf WiFiRanger_UserManual_Rev10.pdf (4.58 MB, 66 views)
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 03:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
CSCLARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sanger
Posts: 345
Texas
Ok with the manual and have all the login and password paperwork with my coach and still not getting any kind of broadcast. The previous owner must have changed it all. Says to turn off 3 times for 80 seconds each to reset but I see no switch, fuse or breaker. How do I turn this Sky bugger off?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Chris & Donna
2014 Voltage Epic 3990
2018 RAM 3500 Laramie Sport Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins, AISIN 4X4 DRW 4.10 Long Bed Dually
2004 Sportster 1200c, Cruzbike Silvio 2.1, Cannondale Trail 5, Rover!
CSCLARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Durango
Posts: 127
Colorado
try unplugging it. That's what I had to do
__________________
2017 Voltage 3970, Epic, Full Paint
2015 Ford F350 DRW CC 4X4
2016 Kawasaki Teryx 4
4 grandkids, 1 Yellow Lab, 1 Kubota Tractor
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
CSCLARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sanger
Posts: 345
Texas
Tom I would if I can figure out where the plug is?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Chris & Donna
2014 Voltage Epic 3990
2018 RAM 3500 Laramie Sport Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins, AISIN 4X4 DRW 4.10 Long Bed Dually
2004 Sportster 1200c, Cruzbike Silvio 2.1, Cannondale Trail 5, Rover!
CSCLARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSCLARK View Post
Tom I would if I can figure out where the plug is?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WIFI Ranger has a FaceBook page, perhaps help could be found there.
It seems as if you can't put your hands on the router itself. If you can find it the power cord is plugged in the back of it near the LAN ports.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
If his I'd like mine, it's mounted to the roof. I can't access anything without taking it apart and don't want to chance a leak. Cale Johnson awhile back posted which fuse on his powered it. Might be worth a PM...

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:46 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Yep, the antenna will be mounted to the roof but the router itself has to be inside somewhere.
They have ports for LAN and WLAN so there needs to be access somehow. But, here again, it is in an RV so it could be in the spare tire well.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 08:47 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Durango
Posts: 127
Colorado
It runs on 110V so look for a plug or wires coming in from the roof where it's mounted
__________________
2017 Voltage 3970, Epic, Full Paint
2015 Ford F350 DRW CC 4X4
2016 Kawasaki Teryx 4
4 grandkids, 1 Yellow Lab, 1 Kubota Tractor
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:01 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Yep, the antenna will be mounted to the roof but the router itself has to be inside somewhere.
They have ports for LAN and WLAN so there needs to be access somehow. But, here again, it is in an RV so it could be in the spare tire well.
Never knew that. I've been inside almost every wall compartment and have yet to see it. Any insight would be great. Any idea where yours is for a start point?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:06 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomW View Post
It runs on 110V so look for a plug or wires coming in from the roof where it's mounted
Somewhere there is an AC voltage adapter, a wall wart if you will. That voltage is reduced to 12 volts DC as listed in the specifications for the Sky thing. However the specs list 110VAC and 24VDC so perhaps it depends on an option or so.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:18 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
Never knew that. I've been inside almost every wall compartment and have yet to see it. Any insight would be great. Any idea where yours is for a start point?

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I don't have one. I've been doing the research and found there are a few models of them. I'm still trying to understand what they are all about. I know wifi, routers and signal boosters so I'm trying to find what makes these so special.

https://mito-oem.com//index.php?rout...egory&path=112

Perhaps you have the first one shown, just the antenna and no router.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:24 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
I don't have one. I've been doing the research and found there are a few models of them. I'm still trying to understand what they are all about. I know wifi, routers and signal boosters so I'm trying to find what makes these so special.

https://mito-oem.com//index.php?rout...egory&path=112

Perhaps you have the first one shown, just the antenna and no router.
We've connected ours to a phone with wifi and used it as a wireless router before but not since the first year we had it

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:27 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
We've connected ours to a phone with wifi and used it as a wireless router before but not since the first year we had it

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
So then you have the router inside the RV? Oh wait, your phone is connected to the ranger via wifi so then you don't have a router.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:39 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
So then you have the router inside the RV? Oh wait, your phone is connected to the ranger via wifi so then you don't have a router.
We used the wifi ranger as the router. We've also connected the ranger to a campgrounds wifi and then the kids connect to the wifi ranger to access internet. Again though, been a couple of years since we did that

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 09:57 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
We used the wifi ranger as the router. We've also connected the ranger to a campgrounds wifi and then the kids connect to the wifi ranger to access internet. Again though, been a couple of years since we did that

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
I get it now, I think you have the SKYDC3 model. That's the antenna and wireless function all in one mounted on the roof. Then the later models have the 4 port router inside the cabin, somewhere.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 11:41 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Durango
Posts: 127
Colorado
the base model has the 110v and an ethernet connection all in the 110V plug. The signal you are looking for comes from the roof mounted box. The Ranger is somewhat slow to boot up and then shows a selection of nearby wifi signals. When you see that, pick the signal you want (strength) and it should connect up.
Good Luck
__________________
2017 Voltage 3970, Epic, Full Paint
2015 Ford F350 DRW CC 4X4
2016 Kawasaki Teryx 4
4 grandkids, 1 Yellow Lab, 1 Kubota Tractor
TomW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 01:21 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
CSCLARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sanger
Posts: 345
Texas
Been swapping email with tech support. He said I have a Generation 1 and it is possibly wired to a black PoE box or could be hardwired. Sent him a pic so the only way to find the wire color and trace is to take the 4 screws and top off from the roof unit. Maybe tomorrow I will know if I get a chance to get up there again. Will keep you posted.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Chris & Donna
2014 Voltage Epic 3990
2018 RAM 3500 Laramie Sport Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins, AISIN 4X4 DRW 4.10 Long Bed Dually
2004 Sportster 1200c, Cruzbike Silvio 2.1, Cannondale Trail 5, Rover!
CSCLARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×