Voltage 3950 - Converter Problems - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2016, 02:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 10
Texas
Voltage 3950 - Converter Problems

Batteries aren't charging when plugged in to shore power. Very frustrating. Where is the converter on these units? Ours is a 2012 or 2013 I think.

Is it behind the fuse panel? If so, is it easier to access through the storage area, or do you need to pull the cabinet apart inside the trailer?

Owners manual is no help.

Lastly, what is the best option for replacing it?

Thank you!
__________________

smackdaddy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 03:19 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 10
Texas
Well it's not through the storage compartment. The furnace sits between the fuse/breaker panel and the storage compartment.
__________________

smackdaddy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 06:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Have you done any trouble shooting on the OEM converter? There are usually a couple of fuses that protect the converter. If you go to the converter manufacturers web site, you should be able to find a manual for the converter/panel and their trouble shooting guide.

Take the front cover off of your distribution panel, you should see the converter below the fuses? It is a seperate module held in place with screws, it slides out and everything is should be accessible from the front.

Go to the Progressive Dynamics site and look up your panel make and model, for options if you need to replace it. This is the converter that most folks recommend as a replacement, I certainly haven't been disappointed.

RV and Marine Power Converters and Chargers
__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2016, 08:21 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,137
North Carolina
Which model of converter do you have now? The converter should be below/behind the fuse/breaker panel. In some cases it may be remote mounted, but that is not all that common. You probably have a WFCO 8900 series. The converter section is very easy to swap out for a Progressive Dynamics, the PD will do a better job on keeping the batteries charged and maintained and won't be crapping out on you again in short order.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 10:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,433
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by smackdaddy66 View Post
Batteries aren't charging when plugged in to shore power. Very frustrating. Where is the converter on these units? Ours is a 2012 or 2013 I think.

Is it behind the fuse panel? If so, is it easier to access through the storage area, or do you need to pull the cabinet apart inside the trailer?

Owners manual is no help.

Lastly, what is the best option for replacing it?

Thank you!
Granted mine is a 2014, but mine was located behind the wet bay compartment under the steps going from the living room to the bedroom.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 12:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sugar Land
Posts: 10
Texas
Found it! Yes, when looking in the front storage compartment from the entry side of the trailer, you must remove the panel where the vacuum box is. It's the only panel running parallel with the trailer.

3 fuses are blown. All of them 35 Amp. Quick and cheap fix, provided my battery cables are now correct.
smackdaddy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 04:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
snakebitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Alvin
Posts: 727
Texas
Good Luck!
__________________
2017 Aerolite 213 RBSL-ND
2018 Wolf Pup 17RP Limited (Tiny THauler)
2018 F150 King Ranch 3.5 Beast
2003 Ram 2500 Cummins (can't kill this beast)
snakebitten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2016, 05:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by smackdaddy66 View Post
Found it! Yes, when looking in the front storage compartment from the entry side of the trailer, you must remove the panel where the vacuum box is. It's the only panel running parallel with the trailer.

3 fuses are blown. All of them 35 Amp. Quick and cheap fix, provided my battery cables are now correct.
There you go.

The terminals on the converter are very clearly marked, positive and negative on the 12V side and the 120V side. There is also (at least on my old converter) another fuse or two on the board, you have to remove the converter to check them. One of them was soldered on to the board, if I remember correctly that's the one that is supposed to protect the circuit board.

If you go look at the Progressive Dynamics site, find their replacement for your converter and take a look at their installation manual. They have some very good pictures of the OEM showing which terminal is which. Sounds like your haven't gotten into that if your 35A fues on the panel all went.

Do you have a surge protector, a Kill-a-volt or even a receptical tester. Any one of them can give you a picture of what's happening on the 120V side.

I've gone with a hard wired surge protector, for my money that's the best way to go. It goes through it's little diagnostic and if there is ANY problem with the incoming power, it fails to start and gives you an error message of the problem. It will also shutdown if you have a high or low voltage problem, that kills things like A/Cs.

Glad you found it, hope it was just a one time thing.
__________________

__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.