Some outlets work, some don't - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2015, 02:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fredericktown
Posts: 10
Missouri
Unhappy Some outlets work, some don't

We have a 2006 Freedom Spirit 26B-DSL. While we were camping, 6 of the possible 10 outlets quit working. The bedroom is at the front and none of those work, the outlet where the TV goes, just in front of the bedroom, and the refrigerator plugin are the ones that don't work. There is electric going into the converter, which is a WFCO 3 stage. My husband used a voltmeter and checked this to be sure. We are stumped and getting frustrated. Can someone please help? the outlets have the wires pushed into the blades on each side.
__________________

24KtNanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 03:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 702
South Carolina
Sounds like you tripped either a circuit breaker (prob located on the input, i.e. 120VAC side of the converter box) or a GFCI, perhaps in the bathroom, near a sink, etc. You know, the kind with the test and reset buttons. Regular outlets are slaved off of these GFCIs. Barring all of that, you might have a wire pulled loose somewhere, such as near a slide?
__________________

MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 12:43 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
I vote for either a tripped/bad GFCI, tripped breaker or a loose connection, in that order.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 03:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fredericktown
Posts: 10
Missouri
Some outlets work, some dont

The gfci outlet was not tripped but I did a reset on it anyway. Did the same thing with breakers and still nothing. There is only 1 outlet that has a reset on it. What should I do next?
24KtNanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 03:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
(Only suggesting this if your somewhat familiar with a meter and breaker panels.) If you know what breaker it is, pull the panel off and check for loose wires and power going to that breaker. Then that will tell you which direction to go.
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 04:18 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fredericktown
Posts: 10
Missouri
some outlets work, some don't

Ok. I think I can do that. Thank you all, I will let you know what happens. It will be later in the day as I have to plant my garden, but I will check.
24KtNanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 04:31 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
If the breaker checks out, start down the line checking each plug for broken or pulled out wires, that is if you feel you can do it. Otherwise call a professional. To the best of my knowlege no wiring diagrams exist for Dutchmen products, at least none available to the general public or most service centers.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 07:49 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fredericktown
Posts: 10
Missouri
Some outlets wor, some dont

Ok. The breaker was checked with a volt meter. It has electric coming out. The outlets, all 10 run off 1 15 am breaker. Is this normal. The wires in the outlets look good. Anything else I can try?
24KtNanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 08:00 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24KtNanna View Post
Ok. The breaker was checked with a volt meter. It has electric coming out. The outlets, all 10 run off 1 15 am breaker. Is this normal. The wires in the outlets look good. Anything else I can try?
Can you determine which is the first outlet in line? I do find it hard to believe that all 10 would be wired on one circuit, but I have seen similar stupid stuff from Dutchmen.

My guess at this point is you have a single bad plug and everything down stream from it is not getting power. The only way to isolate is to check the wires at the last working plug going to towards the first unworking one. There could be a break in a line between a couple of plugs too, those can be caused by a variety of things, including a screw run through a wire.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2015, 08:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fredericktown
Posts: 10
Missouri
Ok. We will do that. Thank you!
__________________

24KtNanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.