slide out problems - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2016, 03:37 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: sand springs
Posts: 4
Oklahoma
slide out problems

I have a 2015 voltage and when I got to my new site the bedroom slide will only slide out 2". I have had a lot of problem with this trailer but I have fixed most of them. I live in my trailer so taking it to a dealer and leaving it out of the question. Can anyone give me some suggestions on where to start so I can fix it.
Thank you
__________________

rhamaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 04:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,848
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhamaker View Post
I have a 2015 voltage and when I got to my new site the bedroom slide will only slide out 2". I have had a lot of problem with this trailer but I have fixed most of them. I live in my trailer so taking it to a dealer and leaving it out of the question. Can anyone give me some suggestions on where to start so I can fix it.
Thank you
FYI, Midtown RV Service in Jenks has helped me with slide problems twice. They are pretty good and not overly expensive.

Can you explain what it's not doing or doing besides it won't open? Noise? RV level? On shore power?
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 06:14 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: sand springs
Posts: 4
Oklahoma
I know my profile says I'm in OK but that is where my home is, right now I am in nowhere PA. when I hooked up to come here it would slide in all the way but 3" and after I drove for awhile I tried it again and it slid in the rest of the way. When I parked here yesterday and tried to slide it out it started as normal but only went out about 2". It will slide back in and slide out that little bit. I tried it 4 or 5 times and all the same results. I thought it may have a sensor or something saying how far it will go but I didn't see anything. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you,
rhamaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 06:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,848
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhamaker View Post
I know my profile says I'm in OK but that is where my home is, right now I am in nowhere PA. when I hooked up to come here it would slide in all the way but 3" and after I drove for awhile I tried it again and it slid in the rest of the way. When I parked here yesterday and tried to slide it out it started as normal but only went out about 2". It will slide back in and slide out that little bit. I tried it 4 or 5 times and all the same results. I thought it may have a sensor or something saying how far it will go but I didn't see anything. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you,
Ah, PA, don't think Midtown will travel that far. However check this out . Youtube has many videos regarding the slide problem.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 07:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Griswold
Posts: 188
Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhamaker View Post
I have a 2015 voltage and when I got to my new site the bedroom slide will only slide out 2". I have had a lot of problem with this trailer but I have fixed most of them. I live in my trailer so taking it to a dealer and leaving it out of the question. Can anyone give me some suggestions on where to start so I can fix it.
Thank you
I had the same problem once, (slide would only move in or out about 2") ended up being a bad motor.( main slide) Actually there was a broken wire on the motor, I put a new motor in but soldered the wire back on the old one and kept it as a spare. The bad motor would shut off after moving the slide 2" and the other motor then would shut down because the room was out of whack. That's how I could tell which motor was bad.
You could also just have a loose crimp or wire connection on the controller which should be in the front compartment on the ceiling where the battery and generator are. If it's like mine that's the bedroom controller, check for a code flashing. Then maybe try the override procedure. Try unplugging all the connectors on that controller and plugging them back in.

I had to actually replace the bedroom controller with a new one once, but it wouldn't move at all. Good luck!
__________________
2014 V3605
2015 Harley Road Glide Ultra CVO
2016 F-350 6.7 SRW SupurDuty Crew FX4 Lariat
dougs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×