Satellite TV Connection - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2014, 08:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mars
Posts: 10
Pennsylvania
Satellite TV Connection

I have a 13 Coloeman CTS262bh. I am told its virtually the same camper as a Dutchman 261BHS. We currently have it sitting in a seasonal spot where we have access to a Direct TV Satellite Dish. I was told by a fellow camper that I may not be able to run the satellite cable into the port on the side of the trailer. He was saying that satellites are different and that I may have to run the cable through a window directly to the receiver box. Can anyone shed any light on this? Being that its winter time, I am unable to do anything about it until April!. Just curious if anyone might know the answer. My thoughts are that its a newer camper, so I would hope that its capable of handling either cable or satellite throughout he port on the side. Thanks in advance for Amy help!
__________________

__________________
2013 Coleman CTS262BHS
2013 Ford F150 5,0, 3.55's w/ Factory Tow Package
Villain2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 09:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Celina, TX
Posts: 80
Texas
I was able to run it into mine through the outside connection. Make sure to turn off the antenna booster or it will mess up the signal.
__________________

__________________
2014 Voltage V3305
2014 F450 Platinum
sold**2009 f250
firestone bags with AirRide wireless auto level Curt Q20 on R5 rails
Jbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:13 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
X2 on the antenna booster.

There are 2 different coax cables on the market used for tv, RG 6 and RG 59, they both work and my tired old eyes can't see any difference in picture quality.

I had a problem with the way the the coax was attached to the splitter in the living area. The cable from the outside connection was attached to the output side and the bedroom TV was attached to the input.

Once the coax cables were attached to the correct terminals everything was fine.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by hddecker View Post
X2 on the antenna booster.

There are 2 different coax cables on the market used for tv, RG 6 and RG 59, they both work and my tired old eyes can't see any difference in picture quality.

I had a problem with the way the the coax was attached to the splitter in the living area. The cable from the outside connection was attached to the output side and the bedroom TV was attached to the input.

Once the coax cables were attached to the correct terminals everything was fine.
RG-6 has higher bandwidth than RG-59 the higher bandwidth more data on cable (Better picture, HD).
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
I think what your friend was telling you is there must be a straight run from the outside to the satellite receiver. If the line has a splitter in it before it reaches the receiver it will not work. some campers split the incoming line to go to the bedroom and or outside. If yours is split between outside and the satellite receiver then you MUST run a separate line.
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by hddecker View Post
X2 on the antenna booster.

There are 2 different coax cables on the market used for tv, RG 6 and RG 59, they both work and my tired old eyes can't see any difference in picture quality.

I had a problem with the way the the coax was attached to the splitter in the living area. The cable from the outside connection was attached to the output side and the bedroom TV was attached to the input.

Once the coax cables were attached to the correct terminals everything was fine.
I was out in the trailer yesterday tinkering and had look at my TV setup.

It must be the old "unimproved" version. My problem was that there are two coax connections on the outside of my trailer. One is marked Cable, the other is marked Satellite, the Cable coax was attached to the output side of the splitter, so I had no signal no on the living room TV.

This is the first trailer that I recall seeing two coax connectors on the outside. Does anybody else have this setup. I guess it would be handy if all you want to do is watch TV, you can switch from cable to sat TV without going outside.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 09:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by hddecker View Post
I was out in the trailer yesterday tinkering and had look at my TV setup.

It must be the old "unimproved" version. My problem was that there are two coax connections on the outside of my trailer. One is marked Cable, the other is marked Satellite, the Cable coax was attached to the output side of the splitter, so I had no signal no on the living room TV.

This is the first trailer that I recall seeing two coax connectors on the outside. Does anybody else have this setup. I guess it would be handy if all you want to do is watch TV, you can switch from cable to sat TV without going outside.
You cannot watch sat or cable without going outside. Some setups have only one outside connector where you can connect either sat or cable but even those you have to go outside to make the swap.

Now you could connect both the sat and cable to the outside connections and make the swap inside which ever one you choose to watch.

Decisions decisions..
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 03:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
I ran an second RG6 for Sat so I won't have to go outside one that I added just goes to the Sat receiver then a HDMI switch then a HDMI cable to each TV.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 04:36 PM   #9
New Member
 
madrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Barrie
Posts: 6
Ontario
We have a 2015 Coleman CTS262bh and we had the same problem could not watch satellite using the existing connections, i.e. 2 connections outside and one for second set in Bedroom and of course the main power amp face plate in the entertainment centre. The book and the RV dealership says if you want to watch cable/satellite you need to turn the Amplifier off but this does not work due to the fact that the dish sees the face plate as a splitter and no signal gets through so here is the fix for you if you have the same problem without loosing the power amp for the radio.

First remove the fuse for the radio which is also for the power amp.

remove the face plate from the cabinet you will see 3 coaxial cables and 2 power cables. pic.



This is the book schematic that show the rear of the face plate remove the coaxial marked cable. now drill a hole the same size as a cable connector ( see next pic)

below where the original connector comes through face.
plate. and put the cable connector through this hole and lock it off with the lock nut. Now connect the coaxial you removed from the back to this new connector. replace face plate and connect receiver box replace the fuse and power up your amp so you can still use radio. see next pic of how the end result should looks.

you can also connect the out from receiver to the original faceplate outlet and this will still run satellite to the master bedroom outlet.


hope this helps

Rab
madrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 01:50 AM   #10
New Member
 
madrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Barrie
Posts: 6
Ontario
sorry all it appears the pics I put in the above didn't appear bizarre ill try and repost with links to the images instead.
madrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 01:52 AM   #11
New Member
 
madrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Barrie
Posts: 6
Ontario
We have a 2015 Coleman CTS262bh and we had the same problem could not watch satellite using the existing connections, i.e. 2 connections outside and one for second set in Bedroom and of course the main power amp face plate in the entertainment centre. The book and the RV dealership says if you want to watch cable/satellite you need to turn the Amplifier off but this does not work due to the fact that the dish sees the face plate as a splitter and no signal gets through so here is the fix for you if you have the same problem without loosing the power amp for the radio.

First remove the fuse for the radio which is also for the power amp.

remove the face plate from the cabinet you will see 3 coaxial cables and 2 power cables. pic.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2q...it?usp=sharing

This is the book schematic that show the rear of the face plate remove the coaxial marked cable. now drill a hole the same size as a cable connector ( see next pic)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2q...it?usp=sharing

below where the original connector comes through face.
plate. and put the cable connector through this hole and lock it off with the lock nut. Now connect the coaxial you removed from the back to this new connector. replace face plate and connect receiver box replace the fuse and power up your amp so you can still use radio. see next pic of how the end result should looks.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2q...it?usp=sharing

you can also connect the out from receiver to the original faceplate outlet and this will still run satellite to the master bedroom outlet.


hope this helps

Rab
madrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 02:03 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 204
Colorado
I have no idea if Dish is different from Direct, but when we had Direct installed in our house they had to replace all the splitters with ones specific to the frequency Direct uses. I asked the installer if that would apply to the RV. He took a look and said "yes" and suggested just running a separate direct cable from the dish to the receiver if we decided to use it in the camper. For what it is worth.
__________________

__________________


2013 Infinity 3640RL with Trailair pin box
2008 F-250 King Ranch Power Stroke diesel with B&W Companion Slider hitch
Chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×