Power issue need some help - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2015, 03:24 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 43
Alberta
Power issue need some help

Hi all
My 3305 has shore power plugged in and everything was running fine last night . Left furnace on as I towed home to winterize and warm everything up.
This morning no furnace running no lights on thermostat and nothing on the board works, lights, pump, genny start up etc.
The microwave shows power as does the light on the tv. No lights work anywhere throughout.
Any ideas to try?
Out right now but will be home in an hour.
Appreciate replys.
Thanks
Rob
__________________

walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 43
Alberta
Also
Is there a relay or reset somewhere?
I reset main breaker but nothing .
__________________

walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 43
Alberta
Also
Is there a relay or reset somewhere?
I reset main breaker but nothing .
walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by walker1 View Post
Hi all
My 3305 has shore power plugged in and everything was running fine last night . Left furnace on as I towed home to winterize and warm everything up.
This morning no furnace running no lights on thermostat and nothing on the board works, lights, pump, genny start up etc.
The microwave shows power as does the light on the tv. No lights work anywhere throughout.
Any ideas to try?
Out right now but will be home in an hour.
Appreciate replys.
Thanks
Rob
Sounds like battery is dead, you pulled it home with furnace on? Propane furnace? Check voltage on your battery. If the electic appliances are working must be battery. The converter has a fuse I would think. Check output of that unit to make sure its working the charger is built in, the lights throughout are 12v. Along with furnace, dc side of refrigerator so on..
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Check all battery connections, ground and so on. Sounds like a converter issue. Check all connections and fuses associated with it.
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 43
Alberta
I will check those .
Wouldn't battery be charging since it is plugged into shore power all night?
Batteries were good yesterday as I used them to power genny for landing gear and such .
However I sid notice on board showing evens that batteries showed empty last night whe plugged in? Found that odd.
Have new new 6 volts.
walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 03:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 43
Alberta
Thinking converter too.
May have to pull and check the back after I try the other first.
Thanks for your suggestion.
walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 04:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,295
Wyoming
Yeah, it sounds as though everything running on 12v power is dead... but your 110v power items are working (microwave, tv).
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 05:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Okeana
Posts: 166
Ohio
Sounds like the converter. Check the breaker for the converter and make sure it is not bad. Then check the converter itself. It is behind the wall in the basement. It should be a silver box. It has 2 automotive 40 amp fuses in the front. Check those. Confirm 110 volts to the plug and if all those pass the converter crapped out.


Mine did on the last trip of the year. I currently have mine out and it is a WFCO 9875. It has a 2 year warranty, so I'm going to get it replaced and keep the replacement as a spare. I'm going to order a Powermax PM4b-100 this week.
-Jeff
__________________
2014 F-250 6.7 with Timbrens
2015 Voltage 3605
jeffwelsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 06:39 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by walker1 View Post
Also
Is there a relay or reset somewhere?
I reset main breaker but nothing .
Chack your fuse panel in your TV,

I had the same thing happen. My 12V systems would drain the batteries in a day or twe while we were towing and boon-docking. When we were set up for a stay, I used to hook my portable solar panel upto the batteries, the generator this there just in case. It's ten years old and I'll wager we haven't got much more than 100 hours on it.

I run the generator the batteries charge up again and off we go. Next day, Same thing.

I in the interm I had added my solar panels and off. we go to Alaska this year, never had a problem for over six weeks on the road.

I get home decide it's time to upgrade the suspension and brakes. When I hooked up the Electric over hydraulic module and no power. Start checking the batteries, all good, check the brake wiring, all good.

After about and hour I phone the Titan help line. The gentleman nailed it first thing, he said check for voltage at the trailer connector on the 12V circuit. If you have no voltage check to ensure that; a) there is a fuse on the 12V side, as sometimes they don't put them in, even though you have the tow package. b) if there is a fuse check that it is not burnt out. In my case the fuse was burnt out.

I haven't got any idea how long the fuse had been bad, because my solar was masking the problem.
__________________

hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.