Power Draw - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2016, 07:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 37
Oklahoma
Power Draw

Wondering if a single 15 amp 110 volt cord is adequate to maintain fridge and battery while parking trailer in driveway between trips?

Hate having to run the big 50 amp to my shop just to keep fridge cold.

Any thoughts?
__________________

bwwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 07:53 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
thompwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 263
Pennsylvania
That's all I use at home. Keeps the battery charged and runs the fridge and some lights. Works fine.
__________________

__________________

2015 Voltage 3305, Gone for Good !
2014 Ram 3500 dually, Aisin, Gone but not Forgotten.
2018 Winnebago Sunstar 32YE
thompwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 08:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 37
Oklahoma
Good to hear, will save some headache dragging that lunker of a cable around.
bwwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 08:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
15 amp cord will work fine, but do get a heavy duty one.

A year or so ago I had to buy a power cord for my Voltage. Seems like someone forgot to load it before we set off. I bought a 25' 30 amp cord and now unless I need 50 amps I use the 30 amp. Fact is I use the 30 amp more than the 50. Best electrical item ever that I was forced to buy.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 10:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
thompwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 263
Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
15 amp cord will work fine, but do get a heavy duty one.
Good point. You need a 14 gauge cord for a 15 amp breaker, or bigger, not smaller. The old #16 extension cords were a fire waiting to happen on a 15 amp circuit. A lot of the space heater fires in winter are from folks using the old light gauge cords with them.
__________________

2015 Voltage 3305, Gone for Good !
2014 Ram 3500 dually, Aisin, Gone but not Forgotten.
2018 Winnebago Sunstar 32YE
thompwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2016, 11:26 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,137
North Carolina
I use a 15 amp all the time. Get a 12 awg cord in whatever length will work best for you. I get mine for free from work, the guys nick an outer cover and they have to remove it from the job site. Sometimes we are allowed to cut an end of and use shrink tubing to repair them, sometimes not.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 01:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
I don't own anything smaller than a 12ga. I learned that lesson when I burnt up a table saw with a too small extension.
__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 02:05 AM   #8
Member
 
WanderingWades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Brush Prairie
Posts: 42
Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwwilliams View Post
Wondering if a single 15 amp 110 volt cord is adequate to maintain fridge and battery while parking trailer in driveway between trips?

Hate having to run the big 50 amp to my shop just to keep fridge cold.

Any thoughts?
I agree with the above comments but want to add: Be careful about leaving the battery charging. I installed a batt disconnect switch because mine will overcharge the battery.
__________________
2005 Dutchman Colorado 28ft Bunkhouse FW
1995 F250 7.3L Diesel 5 speed
WanderingWades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 02:46 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 312
Florida
yes. and I would not worry about overcharging your battery.
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2016, 03:15 PM   #10
Member
 
WanderingWades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Brush Prairie
Posts: 42
Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by Handyman View Post
yes. and I would not worry about overcharging your battery.
Maybe his converter is better than mine but if you he smells rotten eggs and finds electrolyte boiled out of his battery he will know his converter is similar to mine.
__________________

__________________
2005 Dutchman Colorado 28ft Bunkhouse FW
1995 F250 7.3L Diesel 5 speed
WanderingWades is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.