Onan wiring - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2018, 05:05 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: CORNVILLE
Posts: 48
Arizona
Onan wiring

Does anybody have schematic or color codes for gen wiring? The Onan arrived
__________________

Yamaha YXZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 03:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 563
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamaha YXZ View Post
Does anybody have schematic or color codes for gen wiring? The Onan arrived
I found the one for my diesel genset on Onan's website.
__________________

Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 04:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: CORNVILLE
Posts: 48
Arizona
thanks, I guess I need the Dutchmen schematic , Gen has a plug in but not the same colors as what is in the trailer
Yamaha YXZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 05:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 60
Ohio
Use the Onan service manual to identify wires from plug (I assuming your looking at remote start / hour meter). Onan sells a plug pigtail for manufacturers. Trace from plug down to pigtails to cross reference wire color for inside trailer. Dutchmen does not provide any wiring plumbing schematics. Nor will they release them.
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 06:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,158
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by KN5DX View Post
Use the Onan service manual to identify wires from plug (I assuming your looking at remote start / hour meter). Onan sells a plug pigtail for manufacturers. Trace from plug down to pigtails to cross reference wire color for inside trailer. Dutchmen does not provide any wiring plumbing schematics. Nor will they release them.
That's because they probably don't have any !!! Judging by the amount of folks on here that have issues with them, they probably don't know how to wire or plumb either.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 60
Ohio
See attached photo. Not even for my unit, it did give me enough info to figure out what I needed. Only 1 I have ever found though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	45.3 KB
ID:	4866  
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2018, 07:15 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 60
Ohio
For the OP, is this new install? What unit ? If so its not really a Dutchmen thing anyway. ONAN has install manuals as well. The service manual won't do a whole lot for you. I did an new install on an older KZ. If new install you have like 4 major tasks. 1) Electrical power to the transfer switch (do run a dedicated ground from unit to frame) 2) Electrical controls (prime, run, stop, hour meter, etc) 3) Fuel supply to he set 4) physical install (which would include running exhaust)

Most RV's that are "GEN READY" will have a junction box near compartment for power. Any penetrations should be done with seal tight and high quality foam / sealer around it. May or may not have controls.

For the transfer switch, find box then google the diagram for it. Note: you can wire control relays up in two fashions. 1) Having the GEN power the coil of transfer switch or 2) Shore power to coil of transfer switch. The basic difference here is what is your "primary" source. Personal preference thing.
__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 05:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: CORNVILLE
Posts: 48
Arizona
It's installed and wired correctly I think, problem now is I get E1 code on Zone 2 when running both ACs, works fine on shore power
Yamaha YXZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 05:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: CORNVILLE
Posts: 48
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamaha YXZ View Post
It's installed and wired correctly I think, problem now is I get E1 code on Zone 2 when running both ACs, works fine on shore power
I reversed the load wires from gen into the box and it seems to be fine now, ran a good hour with no codes
__________________

Yamaha YXZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.