No Power To Slide Out Switch - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2017, 01:13 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mosheim
Posts: 6
Tennessee
No Power To Slide Out Switch

I have checked all I know to check. It is a travel trailer with a single slide 2010 Dutchman 26F-DSL. I have tried with just battery, with just shore power, and with battery and shore power. 1. Battery is fully charged. 2. checked all breakers and fuses in panel. 3. I have 12v coming out of panel. 3. All 12v items work properly except slide out. 4. Slide goes in and out manually fine. 5. I have checked for a reset switch near the battery box and don't see any type of switch or relay. I know I am missing something or it would work. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

kaleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 01:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,286
Wyoming
I'm not an electrical guru, but here's where I'd start after what you've done so far...

1) You say no power to the switch. Does that mean you've removed the switch, and tested the power leads with a test light or volt meter? If not, that's where I'd start... to make sure you have power actually going to & from the switch.

2) You don't mention the type of slide out you have: Shwintek, cable & pulley, worm-gear, etc. If it's a Schwintek, there's a control circuit board located somewhere on your rig that controls it. Here's a YouTube link to the troubleshooting procedures:
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 01:56 AM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mosheim
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Yes, I removed the switch from the wall and no power on any of the wires. I am not sure what brand slide it is but it is a rack and pinion. I failed to mention that there is a junction box mounted to frame right behind the battery. Inside of that box are a few wires. The positive side of the battery is connected to what appears to be auto reset breaker maybe. But there is not a physical reset button to push. Red wire from battery on one lug then another red wire on top lug heading up into the floor. I thought about jumping those 2 lugs together but decided not to. For now anyway.
kaleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 11:07 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,137
North Carolina
You can check power on both sides of the lug/auto-reset breaker. Also look for a reset switch/thermal reset on the motor itself. If you knew what type of slide you had it might help with the trouble shooting. Some have control boxes that factor into the situation.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 11:24 AM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mosheim
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Thanks for the replys. I will check both sides of the what I now think is the auto reset switch. Where would I look to find out the brand of slide? Thanks
kaleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 05:08 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mosheim
Posts: 6
Tennessee
Well, now I have checked both sides of the auto reset breaker and have 12v on both sides so I will assume that is not the problem. I rechecked the fuse panel and have 12v on output of every fuse. But, still no power at the switch. I took the switch out of the wall, removed the wire nuts and no power on any of the wires. There has to be another fuse or breaker somewhere between the battery and the switch. Bur where?
kaleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 10:38 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Mosheim
Posts: 6
Tennessee
We are fixed and ready to go. After checking what I thought was the auto reset breaker inside of a junction box, turns out that was only a feed thru. There was another block mounted on the frame that the negative of the battery went to that at first I paid no attention. But after checking everything that I knew, I started over again and pulled back the rubber cover and sure enough that was the 20amp fuseable link. I was replaced it and now all is well. Thanks to all of you who replied to the thread.
__________________

kaleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Popular Tags
#coleman 5th wheel 12vdc power connection 255bhsl kodiak 2003 35bh 2018 atlas 3818 aerolite air conditioning alabama battery battery charging bike rack black water tank size buying cable hookup canvas charge controller coleman condensation converter denali lights diagrams drain dutchmen dutchmen classic 28bh electric conversion elyectrical floor four winds frame fresh water tank furnace gen hot water heater hydraulic interior international inverter inverter kodiak lippert lost voltage panel modification pilot. sway presidential rain ram 3500 recommended refrigerator repair replace replacement roof build rubicon sandwich floor sensot slide out solar stove structural fault switch t@da tank guage thermostat tires toyhauler toyhauler dust rampdoor tub water heater wiring diagram
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.