No DC Power - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2014, 06:50 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Battle Ground
Posts: 10
Washington
No DC Power

I have a 2011 Dutchmen Sport and I lost dc power. Put in a new converter but still no power and I can't find an inline fuse between the batteries and the panel. Any ideas?
__________________

gl111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 06:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Do you have 12v at the converter?
__________________

__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 06:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Battle Ground
Posts: 10
Washington
I don't have a voltage meter but I'll get one and check that
gl111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 06:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Battle Ground
Posts: 10
Washington
I was wondering if anyone knew if there was an inline fuse between the batteries and the converter. There is a junction box but that only houses two posts where power is transfered from the batteries and vehicle lines.

I've also removed the ground from the batteries and plugged in AC, still no DC and is why I replaced the WFCO converter.
gl111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by gl111 View Post
I don't have a voltage meter but I'll get one and check that
12V test light will work also.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2014, 07:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gl111 View Post
I was wondering if anyone knew if there was an inline fuse between the batteries and the converter. There is a junction box but that only houses two posts where power is transfered from the batteries and vehicle lines.

I've also removed the ground from the batteries and plugged in AC, still no DC and is why I replaced the WFCO converter.
Check for circuit breakers. My rig has them mounted on the A-frame just below the battery box.

An rocket scientist at work in the rv industry. They put them in the perfect place for all the road slime, debris and salt can splash up on them. Had to replace both of them last year. Just one more project that I have to get to, I bought a project box at the electronics store and the breakers will be going in it to give some protection.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 04:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Battle Ground
Posts: 10
Washington
No dc power

So attaching the ground to the battery again I tested for voltage and noticed an intermittent chirp from the electrical junction box up under the front of the trailer. Power to the converter only occurs briefly every few seconds. Thinking I've got a short to ground....
gl111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Sounds like the circuit breaker is doing it's job. You just need to trace the power wire from the battery to the converter to find the short. Your on the right track.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:52 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Battle Ground
Posts: 10
Washington
NO DC Power

Thanks
gl111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 06:57 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by gl111 View Post
So attaching the ground to the battery again I tested for voltage and noticed an intermittent chirp from the electrical junction box up under the front of the trailer. Power to the converter only occurs briefly every few seconds. Thinking I've got a short to ground....
Have you opened the junction box to see what's happening in there. It could be as simple as a terminal shorting out.

If you have a multi meter with a continuity test it will help you trace the shorted circuit.
__________________

hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.