MaxxFan wiring - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2015, 04:09 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 302
Colorado
MaxxFan wiring

Hi all, I have a Kodiak 240BHSL and I just had a Maxxair fan installed in the bathroom. The installer used the existing wires for the fan that were in there but unfortunately that wiring is controlled by the switch on the wall. Meaning I can not use that switch for the ceiling light anymore. Normally this would be a minor problem and simply needing to learn a new habit turning on the light at the ceiling instead of the switch, however with a 9 year old who can not reach the ceiling switch this is a problem and I thought I had a solution.
I suggested to the tech that we tap into the wire leading up to the wall switch (before the switch) and run constant power up to the fan unit. It seemed to me a pretty simple solution and we would not even have to figure out a way to fish new wire, just follow the existing wires with the new. He was pretty dismissive of this suggestion when I made it.
So, I still don't understand why this couldn't work. Can someone let me know if this would/would not work and why if not?
I'm prepared to do it myself if it's a safe and effective solution.
Thank You,
Randy
__________________

rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 10:20 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 2,942
North Carolina
Yes it will work, that is how I run mine. Tech was being lazy. FWIW several brands of trailers I have had in the past (not Dutchmen) actually had a hot wire near where the vent was installed just in case.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 02:29 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
EricNSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Valley Park
Posts: 391
Missouri
Didn't your bathroom vent have the little fan already installed? I would have thought you could have used the existing power for that. It 12VDC right? If not, from what you are saying I also agree with Wahoonc and you should be OK.
__________________

2014 Denali 289RK
2017 Nissan Titan XD Pro-4X CC.
EricNSTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2015, 03:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Ridgway
Posts: 302
Colorado
Yes, the there was a small fan unit in there however it was powered by the wall switch so I could turn the wall switch on and both the bathroom light and the fan would come on. I could then shut each off independently at their switch if I wanted.
So currently I need to leave that wall switch on all the time to run the fan and use the light switch on the ceiling.
Thank you WahooNC, I suspected it would work fine, especially as I have LED in the light so a low draw overall on the circuit.
rcharrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.