Lights in popup won't work - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2015, 03:04 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Whitwell
Posts: 1
Tennessee
Lights in popup won't work

I've got a 1997 747 popup camper and suddenly the interior lights and outlets won't work when plugged in. The AC and fridge work though. I'm trying to find the fuse box but no luck. I bought this used 10 years ago, never had a problem til now. Any ideas?
__________________

Revjimmybyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2015, 11:07 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
First place to look will be in the front of the converter box. Most of the popups I have dealt with have an all in one power center. Typically it is mounted in the front of a cabinet near floor level. Brown or Black is a common color. Pop the front off and you should see the fuses. If the outlets aren't working you may have a tripped breaker, bad breaker or a GFCI has tripped. The GFCI reset may be on a plug or on a breaker.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 05:53 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cape Breton
Posts: 24
Nova Scotia
It's not a fuse. I had a 12 ft and had the same issue. My brother had it too and told me to check for a pinched wire on one of the corner supports. If you look while its up you'll find the one corner that has all the wires that supply the roof. It's been a while but it was obvious. Either wiggle them or there was a separation. Or I may have only had to put it up and down a few times and all was well again. Be patient ,, if it's the ceiling that lost power it's one of these things.
Best of luck,,,!
__________________
East Coast, Canada
2008 Chrysler Aspen
2012 Dutchmen Kodiak 242RESL
caper_6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2015, 11:00 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
Another possibility might be a roof switch. I know Coleman had a switch that cut power to the lights when the roof came down to keep from starting a fire when the canvas was pushed in. They would go bad occasionally. Ours was under the swing up kitchen. I don't know if Dutchmen used one or not.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical, need help

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×