Home Electrical Outlets in RV - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2017, 12:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 70
North Carolina
Home Electrical Outlets in RV

I have a 291RESL and have a outlet right beside the bed on both sides. I was thinking about changing these outlets out to the ones that have USB built in for charging phones. Does anyone see an issue with doing this? I can not think of any problems, but wanted to ask here first to make sure I am not overlooking something.
__________________

captainmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 12:16 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,135
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainmorgan View Post
I have a 291RESL and have a outlet right beside the bed on both sides. I was thinking about changing these outlets out to the ones that have USB built in for charging phones. Does anyone see an issue with doing this? I can not think of any problems, but wanted to ask here first to make sure I am not overlooking something.
No problem. You will need to get a box to mount the new outlet in. In a couple of cases I had to add some bracing for the new box.

Aaron

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 12:36 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 70
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
No problem. You will need to get a box to mount the new outlet in. In a couple of cases I had to add some bracing for the new box.

Aaron

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Thanks I was afraid of that.
captainmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 09:25 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,816
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainmorgan View Post
Thanks I was afraid of that.
Rework or remodel boxes will work for this application.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 04:24 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minden
Posts: 687
Nevada
Take a look behind to make sure you have enough room, some of the units have other things close by....
__________________
Rich and Angela, Lab Dogs, Ruben, Ace
2015 Voltage V3895 2006 Lance Truck Camper
2013 Chevy 3500HD 4X4 CC DRW LB Bags Husky 26K Hitch Can Am Commander 1000 ATV
RVNevada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 04:48 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 213
Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
No problem. You will need to get a box to mount the new outlet in. In a couple of cases I had to add some bracing for the new box.

Aaron

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Wouldn't the existing outlet already be in a box?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 CTS16FB
2019 Nissan NV
PamW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 04:54 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,135
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by PamW View Post
Wouldn't the existing outlet already be in a box?

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Not likely, the ones currently use just clamp the cable and are held in with clips. Whole different standard compared to typical residential or commercial wiring.

Aaron😎

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 04:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minden
Posts: 687
Nevada
Pam, not all the time, they are sometimes just sealed, to safe space...
__________________
Rich and Angela, Lab Dogs, Ruben, Ace
2015 Voltage V3895 2006 Lance Truck Camper
2013 Chevy 3500HD 4X4 CC DRW LB Bags Husky 26K Hitch Can Am Commander 1000 ATV
RVNevada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 04:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 213
Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
Not likely, the ones currently use just clamp the cable and are held in with clips. Whole different standard compared to typical residential or commercial wiring.

Aaron😎

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
Ignorance really is bliss. Thanks for ruining that for me!

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
__________________
2017 CTS16FB
2019 Nissan NV
PamW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2017, 05:00 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 213
Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVNevada View Post
Pam, not all the time, they are sometimes just sealed, to safe space...
But what about the insula ... Oh, wait, Coleman.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2017 CTS16FB
2019 Nissan NV
PamW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.