Grounding a generator? - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-28-2018, 06:38 PM   #1

Ontario
Grounding a generator?

I was reading the owners manual for my new Firman 3300i invertor generator and it recommends that I ground it with a copper wire and stake. Does anyone else that uses a generator do this? This is my first time using one with my trailer.

Adair1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 08:00 PM   #2

Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adair1965 View Post
I was reading the owners manual for my new Firman 3300i invertor generator and it recommends that I ground it with a copper wire and stake. Does anyone else that uses a generator do this? This is my first time using one with my trailer.
Most of the generators I've seen (all brands), have a grounding lug but I can say I've never seen one grounded to earth.
The grounding issue is mostly manufacture CYA I think. The Onans in our RVs aren't grounded to earth but the RV does have a GFCI for protection in wet areas.
Pleasure boats have generators and they aren't grounded to earth so it's a gray area at most.

Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 08:04 PM   #3

Ontario
Thanks, thats what I've been reading, but I wanted to check with people here as well.
Adair1965 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 10:50 PM   #4

Florida
Would not hurt but driving a 6 - 10 foot copper rod each time you use it would be a definite pain.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 11:13 PM   #5
Site Team

North Carolina
Depends on the way the generator is wired. Some have a bonded neutral, some have a floating neutral. And I can't remember which one requires grounding.