Electrical problem... Help - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2015, 03:41 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Conroe
Posts: 2
Texas
Electrical problem... Help

This is my first RV. Voltage 3818. We have used it 5 times since purchase last summer. Love it. We are learning new things every trip and now need to get a tester as I think i hooked up to bad 50 amp service at pioneer rv park outside of Laffaytte, La. After hookup I was using the auto leveler which worked but the led panel was out. I also noticed the lights dimming significantly when pump was on. on in side the AC/thermostate would only tun on in zone 1 (thank God as that is the zone with the furnace.) no circut breakers are out or fried and the 1 gfci in the bathroom has been reset. I'm having slight electrical problems. 1 outlet dead and outside tv dead. also noticed1 of the 2 green lights on the male side of the chord is now out. led screen on both hydrolic lever and ac/heat out. Any guesses?
Thank You
Gronny
__________________

gronny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 05:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 703
South Carolina
Sounds like one leg of the 50 amp supply is dead. Did you get the outlet tested? If it's OK, reset your main input circuit breaker, whether or not it looks tripped.
__________________

MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 10:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
EricNSTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Valley Park
Posts: 391
Missouri
Reset your circuit breakers.. and see if it problem still exists. Also you can put a meter on the cord and verify that it is good. You need a multi meter to do this. If you don't have one, it a good addition to have on your rig. If you need detail instruction on how to test you power cable let me know.


Get a surge suppressor, this one is the least expensive and will provide you with circuit testing and surge protection every time you hook up to power. There are more expensive ones out there that have more bells and whistles, but this meets the minimum needs.


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


Using mine I found two campsite with no ground which can be very dangerous.
__________________

2014 Denali 289RK
2017 Nissan Titan XD Pro-4X CC.
EricNSTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2015, 10:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 703
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricNSTL View Post
Using mine I found two campsite with no ground which can be very dangerous.
Agree 100% with Eric. In both 30 and 50 amp outlets, previous campers have made many an outlet a mess. Here's the version I use: Amazon.com: Technology Research 44270 Surge Guard 50 Amp Surge Protector: Automotive
MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:34 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Does everything work when you disconnect from shore power and fire up the generator?
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 02:27 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Conroe
Posts: 2
Texas
On the generator we still don't show zones 2 and 3. the hydrolic panel is also out and the hydrolic motor still works but seems slower. I am thinking we wiped out the led panels and are only on one leg. My question is where are all the breakers. I have reset all inside and reset the 2 30's on the generator. can't find anymore but am thinking we there must be some.
gronny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 03:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 204
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by gronny View Post
On the generator we still don't show zones 2 and 3. the hydrolic panel is also out and the hydrolic motor still works but seems slower. I am thinking we wiped out the led panels and are only on one leg. My question is where are all the breakers. I have reset all inside and reset the 2 30's on the generator. can't find anymore but am thinking we there must be some.
That is actually beginning to sound like something is loose or disconnected INSIDE the breaker panel. I would suggest removing the front panel and taking a look. If you are not comfortable with that idea, find an electrician to take a peek.
__________________

__________________


2013 Infinity 3640RL with Trailair pin box
2008 F-250 King Ranch Power Stroke diesel with B&W Companion Slider hitch
Chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.