dealer told me I bought the wrong generator - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-02-2019, 06:19 PM   #1

Utah
dealer told me I bought the wrong generator

So, without getting into a general debate about generators, we got our first travel trailer last summer. It is 30 amp. We only went to hook-up locations the first season and had a blast. However, I would like to do a ton more boondocking this summer. Therefore, I need SOMETHING to power the unit and keep the batteries charged. We bought a single new Honda EU2200i generator. I am not an electrician, but this appears to provide the equivalent of the trailer being plugged into my regular wall outlet at home (15 amps, 125 volts, 1875 running watts, blah..blah). I think the 2200 watt rating refers to a momentary startup wattage that the generator can produce for short periods of time.

Anyhow, Honda also makes an EU2200i companion generator, which has a 30 amp outlet so you can hook directly to the trailer (it also has a 20 amp outlet, but I have no idea what that is for). I THOUGHT that the companion only produces these 20 amp and 30 amp power outputs when hooked in parallel with a second EU2200i.

I do not have any plans to purchase a second 2200 generator as we usually don't need A/C in the mountains. Everything else should run just fine with a single generator.

A local dealer told me that if I was only going to buy ONE small generator, I should have bought the 2200 companion, and tried to explain that I then could have gotten a little more "juice" since I was hooking up directly with my 30 amp cord.