Dead batteries...huh??? - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-09-2015, 03:08 PM   #1

Colorado
Dead batteries...huh???

OK, so I'm not really a newbie, but then again haven't really looked into the situation.

We have a 2014 Voltage Epic III 3800. Finally got it in late May. Have used it four times, maybe five. Everywhere we have gone we have access to power and plug in. Even at home I park on a concrete pad and have a meter and connection to the grid right there.

This Fall we found we have to replace the pole the meter and power panel are mounted on. So about two months ago disconnected, rolled up the cord and stored it in the garage.

Everything in the trailer is turned off...everything that I know of anyway. Been like that for probably two months, maybe longer.

Have had a note on the whiteboard to start the generator monthly...that hasn't been happening. So went down yesterday to start the generator...nothing...not even the generator hour meter lit up. So got out the power cord and plugged in. Nothing.

Went back about once an hour for three hours...push the generator start button an hear on very brief "ugh" from the starter. So have left it plugged in over night and will see what's up this morning.

Got out all the trailer info and read up on the electrical system. Have seen "convertor" a lot on this forum, understand what it is...I think...

So where might I find that in my 3800?

What load is there that ran my 4 6-Volt very heavy duty batteries dead?

Do I need to put in an electrical disconnect between the batteries and the trailer?

Do I need to leave the trailer plugged in all the time when not using it?

Will that dry out the Interstate batteries?

I do know from Harleys, that Battery Tender recommends using one for a week a month to prevent issues.

Open to thoughts and want to understand how to maintain the 12 system.

Thanks,

Pirate