Converter problems - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2016, 05:06 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Plano
Posts: 4
Texas
Converter problems

It looks like my converter is only putting out 10V. My battery is running down even when shore power is hooked up. I have a 2008 Colorado with the fuse/breaker panel in the floor of the restroom. There is no room underneath the panel for a converter like most RV's I have seen. Does anyone know if this unit has a converter behind the breaker box, or if the converter and distribution box are all one assembly?

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
__________________

lowreyfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 05:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowreyfarris View Post
It looks like my converter is only putting out 10V. My battery is running down even when shore power is hooked up. I have a 2008 Colorado with the fuse/breaker panel in the floor of the restroom. There is no room underneath the panel for a converter like most RV's I have seen. Does anyone know if this unit has a converter behind the breaker box, or if the converter and distribution box are all one assembly?

Any help is appreciated.

Thank you.
Welcome to the forum.

When you say "in the floor", is it actually in a cutout in the floor?

Our '07 Colorado 30' RL has the electrical panel under the entertainment cabinet and it's all one unit. What brand and model of panel do you have.
__________________

__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 06:51 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Plano
Posts: 4
Texas
I am away from home right now so I do not know what the model is. It is located in front of the toilet mounted inside an interior wall and goes from the floor about 12" up.

Thanks again.
lowreyfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 07:33 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Once we have a model will know for sure. I do agree with Jim I think it's a all in one style.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 07:35 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Does it look something like this? PD4560 50 Amp Power Center with 60 Amp Converter/Charger
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 07:50 PM   #6
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Plano
Posts: 4
Texas
I think it looks more like the WFCO 8700 model. I found the manual on the dutchmen website, and it looks like the converter is all built in.

http://www.dutchmen.com/media/6004/w...ter_manual.pdf
lowreyfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 10:35 PM   #7
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
I would guess it has crapped out. Find out the brand and model number (should be on the sticker inside the cover, then we can help figure out what to do. It is most likely a single unit with the converter behind the breaker panel. Some models you can replace the converter section without replacing the breaker/fuse panels, others you have to replace the entire unit. They are not outrageously expensive, usually in the $200 range depending on the number of amps.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 07:15 PM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Plano
Posts: 4
Texas
I got to the converter, it is a WFCO 9865. It is only putting out 7V with no load. I will probably take it apart later since it is bad anyway. Does anyone know if this can be repaired? Is it simple bridge diode rectifier?
lowreyfarris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 09:27 PM   #9
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
You might be able to repair it.Most of the one's I have dealt with it is usually a capacitor that had gone tango uniform. IMHO the WFCO aren't worth repairing. I would contact Randy at Best Converter.com for his suggestion on the best replacement. My personal preference are the Progressive Dynamics.

Good news is you have a deck mount so it will be fairly easy to swap out.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×