Been bit, schwintek motor short circuit - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-18-2016, 02:13 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Been bit, schwintek motor short circuit

Well, I opened it up today and the main slide was a little sluggish. I have the lube for the slides and that was on my list to do. Had some things come up so I just left everything as it was. Went out to put away all my tools and noticed the blinking red lights. Dam. Frustrated I am.
__________________

__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 02:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 756
Arizona
Mine have been blinking for two years. My slides have been working fine so I ignore the lights.
__________________

__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 02:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Hahaha. 2 years! I'm gonna look at a couple things tomorrow. Wasn't feeling it tonight
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 03:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Well, I just went out and pulled the power wires from the controller. Still blinking. Ran the slide. No more error. Huh
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 01:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Mine have also been blinking for two years with no problems with the slides. I can get the blinking to stop, if I cut all power it resets and then starts blinking again after the next use.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 01:18 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Griswold
Posts: 188
Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fanboy View Post
Well, I opened it up today and the main slide was a little sluggish. I have the lube for the slides and that was on my list to do. Had some things come up so I just left everything as it was. Went out to put away all my tools and noticed the blinking red lights. Dam. Frustrated I am.
If your slide is out and controller lights are blinking go in and push the out button and release. That should shut the blinking down. Works on mine. I read that somewhere in the Schwitek literature. And believe me I've read a lot of it!!
__________________
2014 V3605
2015 Harley Road Glide Ultra CVO
2016 F-350 6.7 SRW SupurDuty Crew FX4 Lariat
dougs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2016, 11:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
07dmax360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seba beach
Posts: 105
Alberta
That would be fine if mine would quit blinking, the code says over voltage, when I run the slide out, one side stops then starts again and runs all the way out. the other side gets to the end first, I keep holding the button down until the side that's behind catches up and opens flush. Then when I run the slide back in, the opposite side stops then starts again and runs until both sides are flush in the closed position. This started last summer, right after warranty from factory run out, I have extended warranty, but if I don't make a claim, I get 6th year free coverage. so i'm waiting for it to completely **** the bed then get it fixed.
__________________
2007 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/SB
2015 Chevy Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/LB DRW
2014 Voltage V-3605 with trail-air pinbox
2012 Can-Am Commander XT 1000, 1998 golwing GL1500
07dmax360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 01:37 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 646
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07dmax360 View Post
That would be fine if mine would quit blinking, the code says over voltage, when I run the slide out, one side stops then starts again and runs all the way out. the other side gets to the end first, I keep holding the button down until the side that's behind catches up and opens flush. Then when I run the slide back in, the opposite side stops then starts again and runs until both sides are flush in the closed position. This started last summer, right after warranty from factory run out, I have extended warranty, but if I don't make a claim, I get 6th year free coverage. so i'm waiting for it to completely **** the bed then get it fixed.
Sounds like your motors are out of sync. When you move your slides (either in or out) do you continue to hold the button for 5-10 seconds AFTER all movement stops? That is how to keep them in sync. There is a utube video on how to do it. I never move my slides without holding the button for 10 seconds after they stop moving.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 01:44 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
07dmax360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seba beach
Posts: 105
Alberta
I absolutely do hold for the recomended 3 to 5 seconds and when I do that they open and close flush. Its just a pain in the arse when it does that
__________________
2007 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/SB
2015 Chevy Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/LB DRW
2014 Voltage V-3605 with trail-air pinbox
2012 Can-Am Commander XT 1000, 1998 golwing GL1500
07dmax360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 02:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Griswold
Posts: 188
Iowa
Have you looked at the you tube video on how to retime your slide? Basically it says with the slide all the way out, run it in 8" and then fully back out, do this 3 times. This resets the controller to a 0 point and counts motor revolutions to keep them working together in time.
__________________
2014 V3605
2015 Harley Road Glide Ultra CVO
2016 F-350 6.7 SRW SupurDuty Crew FX4 Lariat
dougs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 05:44 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: victoria
Posts: 11
British Columbia
The main living room slide on my 3795 right side needs me to push on the slide from inside the trailer to help it along....is the motor failing? are they undersized motors? I've heard thats been a problem on some of these....anybody got any advice? I've done the reset procedure and it makes no difference....
Snowbeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 06:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
I wish I could tell ya. Others have more experience with this than I do. I am just nervous of it failing. So I may over react. Someone will chime in
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 12:33 PM   #13
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowbeard View Post
The main living room slide on my 3795 right side needs me to push on the slide from inside the trailer to help it along....is the motor failing? are they undersized motors? I've heard thats been a problem on some of these....anybody got any advice? I've done the reset procedure and it makes no difference....
What year is yours? If you can get the number off the motor it will tell which one you have. Then you can look it up on the LCI/Lippert website in the parts section. I seem to recall that was an issue early on.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2016, 02:36 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Griswold
Posts: 188
Iowa
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowbeard View Post
The main living room slide on my 3795 right side needs me to push on the slide from inside the trailer to help it along....is the motor failing? are they undersized motors? I've heard thats been a problem on some of these....anybody got any advice? I've done the reset procedure and it makes no difference....
Do you lubricate the slide mechanism and treat the rubber seals and sides of the room so they are slick. Also check to see if the tracks are all equally spaced or have broken screws or if the floor on that side of the room is flush and straight. Are you getting any kind of flashing light code on the controller?
__________________

__________________
2014 V3605
2015 Harley Road Glide Ultra CVO
2016 F-350 6.7 SRW SupurDuty Crew FX4 Lariat
dougs2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×