Battery not charging - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login

Old 06-26-2016, 11:19 PM   #1

New Hampshire
Battery not charging

Hi- I think I just posted this question in the wrong section. Will go back and delete it.

I hope someone can help me. (I'm not very technical and know I need to learn)

I just bought a 2013 Dutchmen 816Q 19 foot trailer. It's perfect for me and my two dogs. So I've had it a week, here in my driveway, and I'm getting ready to live in it full time soon. I only switch on a light now and then, but other then that, have used none of the amenities inside that would draw power.
I noticed the battery showed only three quarters full when I brought it home, so I plugged it into the outlet in my garage. It seemed to have charged, but the last few days, the lights on the display shows it's loosing charge.
This morning it was completely dead, and I've had it plugged in all day, Just checked it, nothing works when I pull the plug from the house
I hope I didn't do anything wrong

I was told this is a new battery, and it looks new to me. Last week, the fan came on when I plugged in to the house, but now it only comes on when I turn on two lights. I don't understand that, because when I turn off the lights, the fan quits.

What I'm wondering is why this battery lost it's charge when I haven't been running anything, and why I can't recharge it??

I sure hope someone can help me. I have a lot to learn, but didn't figure on battery problems so soon.

I plan to call the dealer in the morning, but just found this forum.

Thanks so much

Barbara

BarbaraM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2016, 04:37 PM   #2

South Carolina