All non-GFCI Outlets not working - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2018, 12:57 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: PHOENIX
Posts: 1
Arizona
All non-GFCI Outlets not working

2017 Dutchmen Voltage 3950

I have a number of GFCI power outlets and they are all working. The reset breaker is in the garage (by the sink) and in the main bathroom (by the sink) and all looks and works well (including outlets in the kitchen for the all important coffee.

This rig has three tv's and none of them are on GFCI outlets, and there is no power to any of the outlets that they are plugged into. They were working two weeks ago, but when we went up this week they were not working.

What have I checked/done (issue remained)
1) Turned off all breakers and turned them back on (not just check, off one by one and then on)
2) Used the dog bone to go from 50Amp --> 30AMP (thinking maybe one leg was down)
3) Got off the pole power entirely and ran the generator..

I am thinking my next steps (not necessarily in order)
1) One of the outlets in the chain is faulty causing the entire chain to go down. logic check, Would all of the tv's in the rig be in the same chain front to back?
2) One of the breakers is faulty. Logic check, Would all of the TV's (110 outlets) be on a single breaker?
3) A fuse is blown in the converter. Logic check, Does that even make sense since the tv's and 110v outlets are AC.
4) I have a bad wire somewhere.. I suspect behind the distribution panel and should check that out when I replace the breakers?
__________________

Skip-JustADadinAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Roseburg
Posts: 325
Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip-JustADadinAZ View Post
2017 Dutchmen Voltage 3950

I have a number of GFCI power outlets and they are all working. The reset breaker is in the garage (by the sink) and in the main bathroom (by the sink) and all looks and works well (including outlets in the kitchen for the all important coffee.

This rig has three tv's and none of them are on GFCI outlets, and there is no power to any of the outlets that they are plugged into. They were working two weeks ago, but when we went up this week they were not working.

What have I checked/done (issue remained)
1) Turned off all breakers and turned them back on (not just check, off one by one and then on)
2) Used the dog bone to go from 50Amp --> 30AMP (thinking maybe one leg was down)
3) Got off the pole power entirely and ran the generator..

I am thinking my next steps (not necessarily in order)
1) One of the outlets in the chain is faulty causing the entire chain to go down. logic check, Would all of the tv's in the rig be in the same chain front to back?
2) One of the breakers is faulty. Logic check, Would all of the TV's (110 outlets) be on a single breaker?
3) A fuse is blown in the converter. Logic check, Does that even make sense since the tv's and 110v outlets are AC.
4) I have a bad wire somewhere.. I suspect behind the distribution panel and should check that out when I replace the breakers?
Are the breakers marked ie outlets. You have to determine which breaker works the outlets in question. Is there more than one breaker marked for outlets?
I would guess
1. defective GFI Push test then reset
2. A wire popped on the chain
3. A defective Breaker
__________________

1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 10:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 631
Florida
You may also find a GFCI in your wet bay.
Ours out there controlled several outlets inside.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 12:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 96
Massachusetts
just a thought .. my old camper would go into total ground fault .. similar to your situation because the electric element in the hot water tank burned out from no water ….
took much research to find problem ….disconnected wires to element and it worked ….
replaced element with new and all was good
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 10:20 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
California
I have replied to this post 3 times and my post doesn't show up. I've been an electrician for 40 years, but seems I cant post.
larrypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2018, 10:54 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
CSCLARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sanger
Posts: 336
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by larrypride View Post
I have replied to this post 3 times and my post doesn't show up. I've been an electrician for 40 years, but seems I cant post.
Larry,
This one did finally, lol.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
__________________
Chris & Donna
2014 Voltage Epic 3990
2018 RAM 3500 Laramie Sport Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins, AISIN 4X4 DRW 4.10 Long Bed Dually
2004 Sportster 1200c, Cruzbike Silvio 2.1, Cannondale Trail 5, Rover!
CSCLARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
California
Try checking on the recpticle that doesn’t work with a voltage meter not a glow stick. If you have voltage to ground you have an open neutral.
larrypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:57 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Beaver Dam
Posts: 320
Wisconsin
Trouble shooting

"I am thinking my next steps (not necessarily in order)
1) One of the outlets in the chain is faulty causing the entire chain to go down. logic check, Would all of the tv's in the rig be in the same chain front to back?"

Same chain is possible.
All wired to same breaker is possible.
It is more likely a connection is faulty than non-GFI outlet is bad. Fault could be in hot or cold wire connection. Since all are down it is likely near the breaker. Start buy checking connections on breakers. Next try pulling outlet nearest breaker panel.

"2) One of the breakers is faulty. Logic
check, Would all of the TV's (110 outlets) be on a single breaker? "

Yes

"3) A fuse is blown in the converter. Logic check, Does that even make sense since the tv's and 110v outlets are AC."

Fuses are probably 12 volt and are not involved.

"4) I have a bad wire somewhere.. I suspect behind the distribution panel and should check that out when I replace the breakers?"

You may have a loose connection somewhere. Checking the output from all breakers is a good start. Pull the panel, check voltage. Look for loose connections to the breakers. Look for loose connections on the ground/neutral bar. Good digital voltmeters are cheap and available at most hardware stores.

Pull each outlet. Look for loose connections on both hot and cold connections. If they are daisy chained there will be four connected wires on each outlet except for the last one. If there are other non-GFI outlets that work, they may be in the daisy chain and thus the source of the loose connection.

Non-GFI outlets can be daisy chained to GFI outlets.
persistent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 08:37 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: San Diego
Posts: 56
California
"I am thinking my next steps (not necessarily in order)
1) One of the outlets in the chain is faulty causing the entire chain to go down. logic check, Would all of the tv's in the rig be in the same chain front to back?"
Probably not the receptacle but the connection to receptacle.
Same chain is possible.
All wired to same breaker is possible. Very likely.
It is more likely a connection is faulty than non-GFI outlet is bad. Fault could be in hot (Black) or cold wire (white) connection. Since all are down it is likely near the breaker. Start buy checking connections on breakers. Next try pulling outlet nearest breaker panel.

"2) One of the breakers is faulty. Logic
check, Would all of the TV's (110 outlets) be on a single breaker? "

Yes

"3) A fuse is blown in the converter. Logic check, Does that even make sense since the tv's and 110v outlets are AC."

Fuses are probably 12 volt and are not involved.

"4) I have a bad wire somewhere.. I suspect behind the distribution panel and should check that out when I replace the breakers?"

You may have a loose connection somewhere. Checking the output from all breakers is a good start. Pull the panel, check voltage. Look for loose connections to the breakers. Look for loose connections on the ground/neutral bar. Good digital voltmeters are cheap and available at most hardware stores.

Pull each outlet. Look for loose connections on both hot and cold connections. If they are daisy chained there will be four connected wires on each outlet except for the last one. If there are other non-GFI outlets that work, they may be in the daisy chain and thus the source of the loose connection.

Non-GFI outlets can be daisy chained to GFI outlets.
larrypride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2018, 10:08 PM   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: vineland
Posts: 5
New Jersey
Non working outlets

I had a similar issue, but was transient. Long story short, there was a loose wire in one of the wire nuts coming from the main panel. The Techs has to trace the wires in the problem circuit all the way back to the panel
__________________

fireguyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.