Adding 12 Volt and 110 Volt Outlets - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Electrical, Batteries, Charging and Electronics
Click Here to Login

Old 04-24-2017, 06:07 AM   #1

Virginia
Adding 12 Volt and 110 Volt Outlets

I have a 2017 Coleman CTS 192 which has no 12 Volt outlets. I plan to add several internal and external 12 Volt and 110 Volt outlets. I could tie into existing circuits but would like to tie the new circuits back to the power panel. Problems with this include no trailer schematics and I'm not for sure how to patch the wall material.

Drywall patches are pretty easy but this wall material in RV's is something I have no experience with. They even have this material on the shower walls - no shower surround Anyone have experience patching this RV wall material? Anyone had problem with this material in the shower?

I spoke with an RV tech who said the walls were “solid core” or something like that. Maybe he was talking about foam insulation so it might be really difficult to run the wiring even if I could patch the wall material.

For the 12 Volt outlets I was hoping to find wall mounted sockets with dual 12 Volt outlets but never found any. Anyone found such a 12 Volt outlet? Kind of like this but with two or more sockets in the panel - https://www.amazon.com/Prime-Product.../dp/B00076WQDG.
I found this 3 socket outlet designed for cars which seems like it would work pretty well - https://www.amazon.com/Automotive-Ex.../dp/B00PXAMYTC. This is for interior use. For exterior use I found a dual outlet with Marine on it but not for sure how well it would handle the elements - https://www.amazon.com/SOLOOP-Cigare.../dp/B01HULC00E.

WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 10:46 PM   #2

South Carolina