What not to run.... - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2018, 12:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: ABERDEEN
Posts: 39
North Carolina
What not to run....

If I have an extension cord running from my TT to the house on a 15amp breaker, what should I not turn on while connected to this? I'm assuming the micorwave and A/C but is there anything else that I should not turn on? Is turning on the water pump or the fridge for pre-cooling prior to a trip OK? Thanks for your help as I am new to this.

Can the fridge run off the battery while it is connected to the tow vehicle and traveling?
__________________

__________________
Retired USAF 1974 - 1994 MSgt
2014 Coleman Expedition CTS-192R
2019 RAM 1500 5.7 Big Horn 4X4 off road package
2001 Chevy Silverado Z71 5.3l extended cab
stepbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 01:48 AM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Fridge draws about 3-4 amps when plugged in. So you should be fine with that. Water pump is 12 volt so it runs off battery power, which is replaced by the converter when plugged in.

Most fridges don't run on 12v DC aka battery power anymore. If you want/need to run the fridge while on the road you will need to use the LP and leave the batteries on to keep the control circuit active.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 09:55 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,847
Florida
you probably have an amp or two immediately whenever you are on shore power. The batteries are being charged, some of the lights are on, etc. Definitely not the hot water heater. You should be ok running the small electrics but definitely none of the majors. Usually a standard house type15 amp breaker will trip around 60 - 80% of it rated current load.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 01:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kirkwood
Posts: 36
New York
When I camped at my grandfathers cottage we were able to run everything with out a problem. What always tripped the breaker was when we ran the microwave and AC together. Just shut the AC off and you’re good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
spichura-300TQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 02:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,710
Tennessee
Are you sure they're 15amp? My house has 20 amp breakers and it runs my air with no problems. I only use it the day before a trip (nothing else), it helps the fridge cool down faster, which I just run on propane until we get to the campground.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 03:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 96
Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Are you sure they're 15amp? My house has 20 amp breakers and it runs my air with no problems. I only use it the day before a trip (nothing else), it helps the fridge cool down faster, which I just run on propane until we get to the campground.
I can run mine the same way but make sure you use a heavy extension cord ....if I use a small cord it will blow the breaker
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 03:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,710
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo View Post
I can run mine the same way but make sure you use a heavy extension cord ....if I use a small cord it will blow the breaker
Yes. I have a spare 30amp power cord that I cut the end off and put a house plug on.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 05:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,847
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Yes. I have a spare 30amp power cord that I cut the end off and put a house plug on.
why didn't you just get one of these?
https://www.etrailer.com/Wiring/Epic...iABEgKs9PD_BwE

I have one for every amperage for my rv.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 06:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,710
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
why didn't you just get one of these?
https://www.etrailer.com/Wiring/Epic...iABEgKs9PD_BwE

I have one for every amperage for my rv.
2 reasons, those eventually burn out, and I fried the end off of my original power cord at a campsite, hence the spare cord.

Those adapters may be fine for occasional use, but my camper stays plugged in 24/7, I would not recommend one for that.
__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 12:58 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,847
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
2 reasons, those eventually burn out, and I fried the end off of my original power cord at a campsite, hence the spare cord.

Those adapters may be fine for occasional use, but my camper stays plugged in 24/7, I would not recommend one for that.
I prefer the corded adapters myself, they seem to be better constructed than this little guy. I agree that these small adapters should be used only in case you are in a bind and I guess if you have a clear and present need for a well built full time one instead of one that you would use because they gave you a 30 amp site instead of a 50 amp site, they are a lifesaver to have on hand. I have one of each to adapt my 50 to whatever I end up with and they are ALL corded (about a foot long) and more expensive (but better built). Besides, I would not recommend the use of a plain extension cord to power my RV.
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×