satellites, new question - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > General RV Related Discussions
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2018, 12:58 AM   #1
Member
 
KathyJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 30
Texas
satellites, new question

I bought the Playmaker, the single not the duo. NOW, I need to know how to hook everything up. I was looking at the manual for our 2015 Aerolite 250BHS and it says this. But I still have no idea if it's satellite capable or not. There is nothing written on the outside of the camper. I looked at the "what this camper has" thing on some page and it said it was satellite capable. I guess I'll find out when I try hooking everything up tomorrow hopefully. OH one more thing. I have a coax to hook up the wally to the outlet, but what do I use to hook the wally to the tv?

Satellite the manufacturer instructions supplied with the unit for Care & Operation. When selecting your campsite, make sure you have a clear line of site (no obstruction from trees, etc) to the southwest so
you can obtain the satellite signal.

and the specs on this site said it was prewired for satellite:
https://www.rvusa.com/rv-guide/2015-...50kbhs-tr22198
__________________

KathyJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 10:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,075
Florida
I'm going to be a first time sat hooker-upper also. let us know how you come out. Mine will be a little more complicated since I need to set up a SWiM power supply.

Good Luck!
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 09:32 PM   #3
Member
 
KathyJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 30
Texas
I found my hdmi cord. We are taking the camper to Warrenton for antiques week. I don't think I'll have time to try it. If we do I'll let you know
KathyJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 12:17 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Roseburg
Posts: 250
Oregon
Is that a Portable Satellite or is it fixed on the roof? You will need a outside dedicated satellite connection similar to the Park cable connection. Then inside the trailer you should have a dedicated satellite connection. Or you may have a wall plate that has a loop A and B connection. With the loop connected you have normal antenna park cable operation. To use Satellite you need to remove the loop from terminal A and then connect the Satellite box Sat In to it. Then HDMI from Sat Box to TV. You will have Sat but not antenna or Park cable. Maybe, I think, could be?
1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 02:55 AM   #5
Member
 
KathyJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 30
Texas
Portable. At this time of night, looks and jumpers scares me. I want to call forest river Monday. Hope I can talk to a person who knows.
KathyJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2018, 10:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,075
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by KathyJB View Post
Portable. At this time of night, looks and jumpers scares me. I want to call forest river Monday. Hope I can talk to a person who knows.
Good luck with that!
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 05:18 PM   #7
Member
 
KathyJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 30
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Good luck with that!
How very correct you were. I could tell when I was on the phone that I wasn't the only person they were dealing with. It's unnerving knowing that they aren't giving me their full attention. Finally got to the right department and was told that I can't use the Joey, I need a Wally. I was told by someone at dish previously I could use my Joey.
So instead of buying a $99.00 Wally from dish, I bought one for
$78.00 from Amazon.
KathyJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 07:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,075
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by KathyJB View Post
How very correct you were. I could tell when I was on the phone that I wasn't the only person they were dealing with. It's unnerving knowing that they aren't giving me their full attention. Finally got to the right department and was told that I can't use the Joey, I need a Wally. I was told by someone at dish previously I could use my Joey.
So instead of buying a $99.00 Wally from dish, I bought one for
$78.00 from Amazon.
Sorry! Lots of folks have a similar experience with customer support (for all of them). My experience is that they really are not connected to the service or manufacturing portion and just field calls that they can answer from who-knows-where documentation that they have.

I once asked them for a layout of the studs in the bathroom so I could put handicap bars in for my wifey... they said that the information was top secret and could not be shared. They also don't know what they are talking about since they really don't know anything about their product.

I will say that I am attempting to put a direct tv setup in and I think I can get it working (with work).

Frank
PS Your BEST avenue is support is this forum. LOTS of folks here are very knowledgeable and can help much better than the morons at the factory!
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 08:28 PM   #9
Member
 
KathyJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 30
Texas
I was talking with dish network. I emailed the manufacturers of my camper and with the vin they were Ble to tell me our camper is set up for satellite.
KathyJB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 08:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,075
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by KathyJB View Post
I was talking with dish network. I emailed the manufacturers of my camper and with the vin they were Ble to tell me our camper is set up for satellite.
I would think most of the newer ones have sat capabilities. Problem is with their splitters not being sat capable (frequency wise). I'm relatively sure that the mfr didn't put sat capable splitters in their rv's. After I get my sat setup here at home and know it's working properly, I'll tackle the RV. Waiting for a new DTV LNB (the one I ordered was defective). Should get that in a day or two then be able to actually test the setup on my home TV and the receiver I am going to be taking on the road. My only problem is that my LNB requires power so I will most likely be replacing the splitters in the RV with direct TV capable power capable splitters. I have a separate input (two of them, one on the side and one on the back) for Satellite input on my RV from the "normal" cable connections but the factory was unable (go figure) to give me a wiring diagram to be able to tell where that goes and how it's wired into the system.
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.