Rear view camera upgrades… - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2013, 09:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 175
North Carolina
Rear view camera upgrades…

Not sure what you all do for cameras but I installed a Lock Pick module in my HD 3500.

All the controls are viewable through the DIC and allow me to use the factory Nav/cam screen.

Here's some pics…

Lockpic screen via DIC.




View through camera mounted on toolbox to hook up gooseneck.



View out of camera out on back of trailer.




Choices for different cameras.










With Lock Pick, you can over-ride the Nav to type in addresses without stopping.




Mark
__________________

orangecrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
soonernation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sanger
Posts: 258
Texas
That is awesome. Which set-up/model did you go with?

I don't have a Chevy but I would assume they have a set-up for Ford.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3200
2014 Ford F350 DRW
www.facebook.com/VoltageToyHauler
soonernation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 02:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 175
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonernation View Post
That is awesome. Which set-up/model did you go with?

I don't have a Chevy but I would assume they have a set-up for Ford.

The retrofit for a Ford to view out the back is pretty simple. It consists of the following.











Sorry, couldn't resist….LOL.

Yes, they do make it also.

Here's a link.

FORD LOCKPICK



HTH's,


Mark
orangecrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 03:00 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
Mark - just way too funny!!!! Another member with a twisted sense of humor!
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
soonernation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sanger
Posts: 258
Texas
Shoot, I didn't think I would need those after I got rid of my last Chevy.

Good one though.

So - I did look up the product on their website. Interesting. How did you end up wiring the camera to the back of your Voltage? I currently have the wireless and it's crap.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200
2014 Ford F350 DRW
www.facebook.com/VoltageToyHauler
soonernation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 175
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonernation View Post
Shoot, I didn't think I would need those after I got rid of my last Chevy.

Good one though.

So - I did look up the product on their website. Interesting. How did you end up wiring the camera to the back of your Voltage? I currently have the wireless and it's crap.
The camera works "okay" in the sense it is a camera and works better than nothing.

I removed the camera and had a hardwired camera mounted instead.


HTH's,

Mark
orangecrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
soonernation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sanger
Posts: 258
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by orangecrush View Post
The camera works "okay" in the sense it is a camera and works better than nothing.

I removed the camera and had a hardwired camera mounted instead.


HTH's,

Mark
Were did they route the wire for the camera? I'm assuming it has to go all the way back to the truck and plug in somewhere.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200
2014 Ford F350 DRW
www.facebook.com/VoltageToyHauler
soonernation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 05:56 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonernation View Post
Were did they route the wire for the camera? I'm assuming it has to go all the way back to the truck and plug in somewhere.
I also run the lockpick in my '11 F350. I hard wired the camera I mounted on the back of my denali and ran wire until I came out next to my pin box, then I ran it along the with the trailer plug to the spot in my bed where it plugs in. I added a 3 pin military grade connector right next to the 7 pin connector. when I plug the 7 pin in, I just hook up my camera. Love it! Now I will need to figure out some way to do the same thing when I get my voltage 3950, or figure some way to pick the video from the remote camera on the 3950 and feed it to my lockpick so I don't have 3 monitors across my dash.
__________________
Thom & Rose
DD-250 ALUMNI
The problem child: 2014 Voltage 3950
The problem solver: 2017 Tiffin Breeze 32BR
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 08:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 175
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom View Post
Now I will need to figure out some way to do the same thing when I get my voltage 3950, or figure some way to pick the video from the remote camera on the 3950 and feed it to my lockpick so I don't have 3 monitors across my dash.
Though you may not have the same camera setup as me, at the end of the day, you apparently still have 3 cameras.

I have …

1) mounted on my toolbox
2) the factory camera
3) the one on the rear of the camera.

By using the wiring options on the Lockpick, you can click on two choices for cameras. Because the wiring for the back of the trailer comes out right at the same point of where I plug my trailer harness in, I have both plugs for both cameras right there.

At that point, I plug in the plug for the toolbox camera so i can load my trailer on the gooseneck and then once connected, when I plug in the trailer harness, I just switch plugs for the trailer camera.



PS. The lock pick works better in my F350 than in any of my GM's.



Mark
orangecrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 09:24 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
Mark,
That is exactly how I have mine run on my Denali, connector right there. As I understand it the Voltage 3950 camera is wireless, thats the one I will have to figure out how to pick off the wireless signal and feed into the lockpick.
Yes, I also run 3 cameras off of mine, tailgate, back of 5'er and one on front bumper that comes on at 5 mph for the wife so she can park that big truck
__________________
Thom & Rose
DD-250 ALUMNI
The problem child: 2014 Voltage 3950
The problem solver: 2017 Tiffin Breeze 32BR
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 03:30 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 175
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom View Post
Mark,
That is exactly how I have mine run on my Denali, connector right there. As I understand it the Voltage 3950 camera is wireless, thats the one I will have to figure out how to pick off the wireless signal and feed into the lockpick.
Yes, I also run 3 cameras off of mine, tailgate, back of 5'er and one on front bumper that comes on at 5 mph for the wife so she can park that big truck
A few thoughts…

1) If you have navigation, then you'll probably not want to have an add'l camera up front in the cab with you.

2) IMO, the wireless camera sucks. If you get a decent quality camera, run a wire up front, it'll be a much cleaner setup.

Mark
__________________

orangecrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×