Mounting TV Bracket - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2017, 09:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Mounting TV Bracket

I have a Coleman CTS192. It has a sticker, similar to the one attached. The sticker is a starting point but it does not show where to screw in the screws of the bracket. I used a stud finder and it seems the density in the area around the sticker is definitely higher than the surrounding wall but the wall still seems a bit flimsy.

I'm wondering if a best practice is to reinforce the area where the tv mount will be installed with a piece of plywood - that is screw a piece of plywood to the wall in the sticker area and then attach the tv bracket to the plywood.

Another concern is screwing all the way through to the outer skin of the TT. Anyone know how thick the walls are? I could measure the thickness at the doorway but that is going to be a bit wider due to the door frame most likely.

And even more concerning than screwing through the TT outer skin is screwing into a electrical wire. Is there any good way to prevent cutting a wire when doing this sort of thing? Another project is inserting a Fan-Tastic fan and I have the same concerns there. One thought is to turn on all the power to the RV and all lights and run a non-contact voltage detector around the walls (tv mount)/ceiling (Fan-Tastic Fan cut in) and hope it will light up if it detects a voltage but that is probably just wishful thinking.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tvbacker.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	14.4 KB
ID:	4059  
__________________

WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 01:15 PM   #2
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,137
North Carolina
Locate your studs, make sure at least 2 of the lag screws make it into a stud. IIRC I used 1" lags because the ones that came with the mounting bracket were too long. Bridging a couple of studs with a piece of 3/4" plywood painted or stained to match is also a good idea. I did something similar at my parents house to mount my dad's 48" computer monitor on.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 06:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Alexandria
Posts: 101
Virginia
Thanks wahoonc,

Now that I think about it if I'm screwing into a stud as you suggested I shouldn't be cutting into any wires assuming the manufacturer used steel plates to protect areas where wiring runs through studs.

I'll be using 1" lags and probably plywood between a couple studs.

Thanks!
WannaBeFree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.