Adding second AC - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2016, 09:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 45
Alberta
Adding second AC

Found out what I thought I already knew......
After a full summer with50 days in my new to me 2014 V3305, the one 15 k AC unit will not cool the whole trailer the way I need on the real hot days.
It seems it would run for hours and then stop before it actually got to desired setting on thermostat.
Anyhow, the main bedroom is prepped for a second AC with a sticker and box and full 14 by 14 vent where I will add a second unit.
Advice on a quiet one? I assume it will not be ducted and controlled from the panel on the unit.
Cost? Anyone that added I appreciate the input.
Will try one addition but may need one in garage too for the boys but figure try this first and direct the bedroom ducts to the garage when I run the bedroom AC. Maybe 2 will be ok?
thanks all
__________________

walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
thompwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 263
Pennsylvania
Two works well for us in our 3305. The bedroom one is louder than I would like, but sacrifices must be made to keep cool I guess. Ours came with it so no idea on cost, and is the same brand as the main unit, controls are on the unit. One would hope there is a unit available that would be quieter, sleeping with it on doesnít work for us. We run them both during the day and turn off the bedroom one when we hit the sack. The main unit keeps us cool during the night just fine.

The garage is slightly warmer than the rest of the rig, but still way cooler than outside, itís quite livable on a high 90s day. I did have to fix the gap between the warm/cold plenum separator on the main unit too. That increased output at the vents in the garage dramatically.
__________________

__________________

2015 Voltage 3305, Gone for Good !
2014 Ram 3500 dually, Aisin, Gone but not Forgotten.
2018 Winnebago Sunstar 32YE
thompwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
I don't think the bedroom A/C will operate off the main panel. Mine doesn't it has its own knobs & just blows out into the bedroom. There isn't any ducking into the main A/C.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
thompwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 263
Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
I don't think the bedroom A/C will operate off the main panel. Mine doesn't it has its own knobs & just blows out into the bedroom. There isn't any ducking into the main A/C.
Yep, ours too on both points. Running both during the day cools real well for us. That along with fixing the ducting on the main unit has helped cool the garage much better too.
__________________

2015 Voltage 3305, Gone for Good !
2014 Ram 3500 dually, Aisin, Gone but not Forgotten.
2018 Winnebago Sunstar 32YE
thompwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:23 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
our v3200 has two from the factory. Both run hard on hot days and the bay which is ducted stays much warmer than the rest. Both are on one controller but can be operated separate depending on how the weather is. Both are ducted into a common duct so if one is on and one off, air will still flow at a reduced rate. The one in the bedroom is very loud but we like noise when we sleep and like it cold. We get both. The only problem you might encounter is the bedroom unit if you cannot push some of the air through the duct it will be like sleeping in a hurricane only a cold one. A lot of air will come out the vent. Alot. Being over your bed might prove to be too much. I suggest you explore either putting the second one in the bay or see how much effort to tie the duct work together in the bathroom or in the bedroom if there are vents in the bedroom.. good luck
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 02:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: calgary
Posts: 45
Alberta
AC

Thanks all for replies. This is something I don't need right now as we will be camping only a few more days with the kids back to school and sports on the go.
Gives me time for researching and hence the question. I would like a quiet unit for sleeping and figure a 12-13 k unit non ducted would suit that.
Will look into garage later. Will also check the main unit as recommended to check air flow obstructions.
Thanks again.
walker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 04:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
I wish you well in your endeavor to find a quiet AC for your roof.. In the BR it is loud not a whisper quiet..That is something to think of.. there are only so many RV roof top units to choose from and most are 13.5 to 15k BTU. Again good luck and let us know how it turns out
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 05:01 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
One thing we do is not run the main A/C going into the ducts. We allow it to go straight down into the main living area. That seems to keep it much cooler in out Voltage. The front bedroom A/C keeps it very cool up there. Fact is you could hang meat up there.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 08:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
thompwil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lancaster
Posts: 263
Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by walker1 View Post
Will also check the main unit as recommended to check air flow obstructions.
Thanks again.
This is what I found on ours. There was a pretty big gap between the warm and cold air sides allowing cold air to recirculate within the unit instead of pushed through the ducts. Made a big difference and easy to check. I've always been a Duct Tape guy, but have crossed over to the dark side and now love my Gorilla Tape.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Slide4.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	3577  
__________________

2015 Voltage 3305, Gone for Good !
2014 Ram 3500 dually, Aisin, Gone but not Forgotten.
2018 Winnebago Sunstar 32YE
thompwil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:43 AM   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Carmichael
Posts: 4
California
I did not get the second AC unit in my V3005. After a summer I found out the factory unit can't do the job. I did seal the ducts on the factory unit and that was a big help. I installed an Atwood AC-1351 in the front bedroom. This unit has a low current draw and will freeze you out of the bedroom. The worst part of the install is getting the vent off. I use both units during the day and the factory unit will keep the trailer cool at night. I am very happy with the Atwood Air Conditioner.
atv rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 01:29 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
rich2481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: tucson
Posts: 95
Arizona
I put a camera up my duct work on my 300hbsl, and in the bathroom behind the TV, my duct work was missing a chunk where they ran AC wires, speaker etc,, also in my lens was a vent pipe cut into part of the vent on the way to the ceiling, I also noticed that the panels were not sealed in anyway to the Aluminum framing, and I am thinking cold air leaks through all that. I even thermal gunned the light fixtures etc,, You could spend so much time in these just trying to caulk up all that ( although I used AC 2 inch foam to seal the 12 inch cut behind the TV, there is no easy way to seal up the frame not the vent tube,, I also put a vent diverter on the only AC unit I have to keep the cold air away from the intake, These units are so different than others. Cheaper for sure, I am sure with the condenser and Evaporator sitting in the desert sun on top of my unit doesnt help my unit cool,,
__________________

rich2481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×