Add a remote switch for an inverter - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Technical | Towing, Maintenance and Repairs > Modifications and Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2015, 03:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 419
Montana
Add a remote switch for an inverter

For those of us who boondock and use an inverter to create some 120V AC electricity from the batteries, you might like this mod. I have a couple of pure sine wave inverters. They are bargain inverters; however, I find them to work well enough and they satisfy my needs. We like to simply plug our shore power cord into the inverter outlet, shut our onboard converter off, and switch the fridge and water heater over to propane. That way the whole trailer acts just like when plugged into shore power and all the outlets are live. But I really wished I had a remote on/off switch for them so they could be conveniently shut off when not needed in order to minimize battery draw. So after some research and some experimentation, I tackled the project this weekend. I thought about taking pictures or video of the project, but ultimately didn't bother. I'm such a lousy solderer anyway that I wouldn't want my work documented! But I basically did exactly as this video describes for how to add a wireless switch to any inverter.

But I went with a wired connection to a standard rocker switch. If you're interested in doing this mod, I suggest watching this video for the basic idea. For wireless, do exactly as it describes. I didn't want a wireless one because the control module would always be pulling an additional parasitic draw. Plus I had regular 12V switches and wiring laying around…
I opened up both my inverters and connected wires from back of the existing on/off switches and ran that wire out of holes in the inverter housings. I cut those wires a few inches after they exited the inverters and spliced in a quick connector. I did this so that I could disconnect this wiring if the inverters need to come out of the trailer, and so I could hook a single remote switch up to either inverter. I originally thought I would wire up a switch for each inverter but decided that didn't make much sense since I can only plug the shore power cable into one inverter at a time anyway so there isn't a need to be able to operate them each independently. The remote switch is installed in the trailer interior and wired to the inverter location with the other side of the wiring quick connector at its end. I wired up the ground wire of the remote switch so that its LED comes on when it is activated. So each inverter can be controlled by either its original switch or the remote switch when it is connected to it. I'm proud, I think this is a pretty slick mod and will allow me to easily switch my inverter off from inside.
__________________

__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 03:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
ewarnerusa - sorry but I don't see a link to a video....am I missing something?
__________________

__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 05:21 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 419
Montana
Huh, it shows up on my browser as an embedded video. Maybe that is turned off or blocked on your's. Here's the link.

EDIT: again it shows it as an embedded video instead of the link. If you still can't follow that link, go to Youtube and search for "how to add a wireless remote to any inverter" and watch the video by username knurlgnar24
__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 05:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,735
California
I see it with no problem
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, 2009 Burgman 650 scooter
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 07:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 298
Florida
Great mod....
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 07:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,054
Oklahoma
I use one of the RF systems on my LEDs over the table and couch except it's variable speed. I can adjust the LEDs according to my vision needs. I also have one over my bed for the reading lights, that way I don't have to twist around to turn the lights off when it's time to visit the sandman. I also have a wireless outlet in the house for the satellite modem. That way when it needs rebooted I don't have to go to the house to reboot it, I can do it from the hauler across the yard.
Wireless/RF stuff is a trick idea, saves a lot of steps!
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 08:36 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Ft. Pierce
Posts: 298
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
I use one of the RF systems on my LEDs over the table and couch except it's variable speed. I can adjust the LEDs according to my vision needs. I also have one over my bed for the reading lights, that way I don't have to twist around to turn the lights off when it's time to visit the sandman. I also have a wireless outlet in the house for the satellite modem. That way when it needs rebooted I don't have to go to the house to reboot it, I can do it from the hauler across the yard.
Wireless/RF stuff is a trick idea, saves a lot of steps!
I have used those for several projects over the years. My last three pontoon boats were remotely steered with those. I could set up front with the guests while cruising but still be near the console if needed. I also designed
a beach buggy to haul our 'stuff' to the beach and controlled it with that type of remote.

I'm thinking seriously about a linear actuator to raise and lower our bed and may use one of those if I can't find a convenient place to locate a switch.
Handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 10:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
I see it is the second post
__________________

__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.