Voltage Air Conditioning - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Voltage Air Conditioning

Does anyone know if a 2013 Voltage 3600 is pre-wired for adding an A/C in the garage? If so, will I find wires if I remove the Fantastic Fan? Also, for anyone that has one, does it integrate into the single AC control or is it manual?
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 10:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
To my knowledge it is not. This has been discussed several times. If you have an oulet nearest to the fan youll need to run off that power with a separate on off and thermostat. Running the wire could be a challenge. I think others have, perhaps they'll chime in.
__________________

__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 10:40 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
If it is pre wired you'll find the romex if you remove the vent's interior trim piece. My last TH was pre wired to the bedroom, but not the garage.

If it's not pre wired and/or you have 30 amp service or you want to be able to run the 2nd AC off a 5500 generator... see this thread.

2nd AC install

Also, even with 50 amp service I would not recommend running a 2nd AC off of a 15 amp interior outlet that's on the house circuit with other loads, It will be a challenge that is only possible to consider if you purchase a high efficiency AC and manage the load.

The best 5500 generator option I've found (other than running romex from the panel... messy!!!) to power a 2nd AC was using a 12 gauge extension cord from the isolated exterior 20 amp GFI outlet to a Marinco 20 amp inlet wired to the AC. (photos attached)

I installed an AC in the garage of my last TH that was not pre wired and have helped two of my friends add AC's to their TT's as outlined in the link above. If you have any specific questions just let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 3.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	1038   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 4.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	1039   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 5.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	1040   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 6.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	28.6 KB
ID:	1041   Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 7.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	1042  

Click image for larger version

Name:	AC 8.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	1043  
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 02:12 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Nice work toad!
I do have 50 amp service. I'll drop the trim on the fan and take a look. Thanks.
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.