Voltage 3905 and DirecTV - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2014, 11:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Eagle
Posts: 109
Idaho
Voltage 3905 and DirecTV

I have a DirecTV technician here and he says that he needs to find the splitter to replace with one specific to DirecTV. Does anyone know where the splitter is? I have opened up the electrical panel in the main storage...not there. Doesn't appear to be found behind the individual cable plates at each TV...so it must be hiding somewhere.

The system he is trying to set up is the one referred to as the DirecTV Genie system.

Only TV cable plate I can't access is the one in the vehicle bay...cannot figure out how to remove the TV....seems it should just lift off like the one in the galley...but it just doesn't want to separate.
__________________

PNGento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 12:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
In my 3895 you remove the 4 corner screws in the bathroom cabinet to access the splitter behind the entertainment center.
__________________

__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 12:35 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Fanboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chesapeake
Posts: 343
Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by HornedToad View Post
In my 3895 you remove the 4 corner screws in the bathroom cabinet to access the splitter behind the entertainment center.
Thanks for that
__________________
Scott n Cindy
2011 GMC 3500 4x4 DRW
2014 Voltage 3895 Epic3
Fanboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Had our 3800 at Windish for a couple of things...and insisted on knowing where the "power inserter" and the splitter for the satellite signal is.

Ours is behind the long cabinet in the bathroom, between the toilet and the door (the real door, not the slider)

But I think your installer may have it wrong. I've been working on this same issue for about a month now!!!

There is one coax coming down from the SK-SWM3 Slimline antenna we had installed on the roof of our 2014 Voltage Epic. That coax goes into the "power invertor" and then out of the "power inserter", then through the Winegard/DirecTV satellite coax splitter. from the splitter your can run coax to the input of four DirecTV receivers.

If you are going with the new DirecTV Genie system...that is the way to go. But, this is how we are doing it, so that we don't need that splitter.

We have purchased from www.solidsignal.com

1 - DirecTV "wireless video bridge". The coax from the satellite dish will go to the this component.

The wireless video bridge creates its own "network" which will include:

1 - Genie HD44-200 HD DVR receiver. Its a wireless connection to the video bridge.

2 - Genie C41W RVU wireless mini client units. One in the bedroom and one in the garage. These connect wirelessly to the "network" and can show any channel you have access to as well as anything recorded on the Genie H44 HD DVR receiver.

I have also ordered two spare power supplies for the C41W units. By doing so I can mount one behind the Outdoor entertainment center TV. That way I can simply unplug the C41W Genie mini in the garage, plug it in at the outdoor...and have DirecTV there. Thus not having to move the power supply or HDMI cable.

Thus, we'll have DirecTV throughout the trailer.

Oh, and you can't add another Genie HR44 HD DVR to your DirecTV account at the house. One per account. A customer service rep e-mailed me that its a DirecTV problem and they're working on it. (yeah right).

My house is hardwired Genie, but the trailer will be wireless. My plan at this time is to take the Genie HR44 HD DVR out of the house and to the trailer when we're away from home.

Been working hard on this for a month. Hope to have the whole system up and running by mid-week!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Eagle
Posts: 109
Idaho
Found the splitter in our 3905

Found the splitter behind the panel that has all of the switches for the lights, tank heaters, water pump, water heater, etc. Just pull the panel out and voila...there is the splitter. I need to look into the wireless bridge.
PNGento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 10:53 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
solidsignal.com has, at least one, person that is their interface with DirecTV. Got an informative e-mail from her late Friday. Says she can help me with the setup in the trailer and with DirecTV.

We shall see!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Elizabeth
Posts: 120
Colorado
Please keep us posted....
__________________
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2007 Freightliner M2 106
Yamaha Rhino & YZ450F
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Eagle
Posts: 109
Idaho
Quote:
Originally Posted by splash View Post
Please keep us posted....
I now have DirecTV in HD and using a genie system. Seemed to be pretty straightforward. It helped to have a friend of my son who is a DTV technician. But, he put some type of box (and I can fill in specific details as needed, but just want to sort of lay out what all he did) inside the compartment where all the water and sat/cable connectors are. This box is plugged in, but there is an outlet in that compartment. It has two coax connections...one goes to the satellite dish, the other connects to the sat/cable input connection. The sat dish is on a nice tripod (I can provide ordering/link info as needed). Back to connections. He found the coax splitter behind the switches panel (lights, water pump, water heater, etc...the brain so to speak). He replaced that with a DTV splitter. He replaced all the crimped on connectors with compression connectors at each TV. If I were to want to watch OTA (over-the-air) TV, I would have to open the panel and switch out the main input coax for another, but can't imagine why I would want to do that. I think that is about it...if anyone else is contemplating doing this, I can ask him if he could give me specifics, but the process was really pretty easy and straightforward. The genie boxes just plug in for power, connect to the same coax cables as before were plugged into the TV (and now plugged into the DTV splitter)...but now, instead of being plugged into the back of the TV, it connects to the genie...the genie then connects to the TV via HDMI (all TVs have HDMI connections. Anyway, aiming the dish is not hard if you have a helper, but if you can have direct line of sight and a fairly quiet environment, a person could do it without help. Really pretty easy. Be happy to take pics or whatever.

Oh, and as long as that panel was opened up, I decided to wire it with LED string lights so I can actually read the labels for each of the switches...what could Dutchman have been thinking to have put that crosshatching on the panel...in anything but ideal lighting, no way can you read the labels without a flashlight...now, all I have to do is push a button and the b backlit panel with make reading the labels a breeze.
PNGento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 03:27 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Well, talked to SolidSignal about the Genie situation. We can't open a "commercial" or "RV" account with a Genie. FCC regulations to overcome...but Dish did it last year, so its coming. Only way would be to open another "residential" account...ain't goin' there!!

Was told the SK-SWM3 antenna just installed on the trailer would probably not work with a Genie HD DVR. Yup, ticked me off pretty good!!

So I took the Genie HR44 HD DVR receiver out of the house, took it to the Voltage, hooked it up...and it works just great! Got that info to SolidSignal...they are glad to know it works...there just isn't much info out there.

The wireless video bridge and wireless Genie minis should be here tomorrow.

Did learn that I can get an extra power supply and remote for the Genie HR44 HD DVR from SolidSignal.

That way, I just unplug everything from the back of the Genie at the house, take it to the Voltage, plug in the cords there...and we're in business.

I will post my results, plus all components and costs so that others can do likewise!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 03:14 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kimball
Posts: 26
Michigan
I also wanted Directv in my 3950. I called and added another HD DVR Receiver to my home account ( Have Genie at home), then put together a Survey Tripod to hold a HD Dish I bought on craigslist. I modified the dish to have a folding LNB arm for easy storage. The 3950 has 4 TVs so I purchased a 2x4 Matrix on Ebay which has 2 inputs a 4 outputs which lets me hook up a DVD player and HD Receiver and send either signal to any TV. Works very well for us.
__________________

13DenaliDually is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.