Voltage 3605 Slide Issue - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2017, 02:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
KeithE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 64
California
Voltage 3605 Slide Issue

Did a quick search and did not see anything on this, hopefully I am not respamming... The couch slide on my 2015 3605 is not coming in. On first attempt, it started out just fine, but as it got closer and closer to being in, it slowed down and the motor started to strain until it almost came to a stop. I stopped when I realized something was wrong, let the motor take a break (while I thought WTF is going on), then was able to fully put it back in the out position. Second attempt when the same (guess I had hoped it would magically reset after I was able to put it out with no problem). It is clear of obstructions best I can tell, but it is dark. Fortunately we are home, but I do need to get it off the street soon! I am thinking the motor (or maybe motors) is fine since it goes out fine and I am leaning towards a cabling issue, but I can't see anything with a flashlight. Will take a better look in the morning and hope one of you RV Gods can shed some light on the issue soon. Thanks in advance!!

Oh, and I although I don't claim "RV God" status, I am a veteran. Slides have been well taken care of, NEVER put out unless the RV was level, etc.
__________________

__________________
2015 Voltage V3605
2012 Ford F-350 CC SRW
KeithE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 03:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
snakebitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Alvin
Posts: 728
Texas
I'm far from an expert, but aren't they schwintec slides?

Or did you mean electrical "cabling" when you referred to cabling issues?



Somebody is sure to chime in soon. Good luck!
__________________

__________________
2017 Aerolite 213 RBSL-ND
2018 Wolf Pup 17RP Limited (Tiny THauler)
2018 F150 King Ranch 3.5 Beast
2003 Ram 2500 Cummins (can't kill this beast)
snakebitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 05:30 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
KeithE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 64
California
I have heard of others having shwintec, but mine is defintely a cable/pully system. I thought that was good because I have heard of nothing but problems on schwin. But then again, all slides suck I guess. Thanks for asking the question, it pointed out that I omitted at least one important piece of information!!
__________________
2015 Voltage V3605
2012 Ford F-350 CC SRW
KeithE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 02:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
snakebitten's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Alvin
Posts: 728
Texas
Everybody must be camping instead of hanging around the forum this weekend. (except you n me?)



This is a really long YouTube video about the cable slide out. But, by the time you learn how to replace the cables, you actually have a good idea of how the system works.

My own opinion, based on your description, is at some point during retraction (inbound) your slide is binding on something.



Hopefully you'll be able to discover where and why.



https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=...&v=lQWBI0gnhpI
__________________
2017 Aerolite 213 RBSL-ND
2018 Wolf Pup 17RP Limited (Tiny THauler)
2018 F150 King Ranch 3.5 Beast
2003 Ram 2500 Cummins (can't kill this beast)
snakebitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 04:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
KeithE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 64
California
lol, we just got back. We attached last weekend to the 4th. And I agree. Its binding I am sure. I just dont see what could be doing it. Thanks for the video.
__________________
2015 Voltage V3605
2012 Ford F-350 CC SRW
KeithE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 06:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
This sounds like the same problem someone with a Cyclone had with their cable slide at a rally I attended last year.

They could only pull it in so far with the motors and then it would stick and have to be pushed in from outside. Turned out some gear or track under the slide was busted.

I looked for his post about the repair but couldn't find it... I'll send you the link when he responds to my PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 06:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
KeithE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 64
California
Thanks!! I have a warranty for it, but hate bringing it in. Hopefully I can figure it out. Will keep an eye out for your post.
__________________
2015 Voltage V3605
2012 Ford F-350 CC SRW
KeithE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 01:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minden
Posts: 689
Nevada
Keith, I was going to ask if you checked the bottom of the slide to see if the floor or the bottom of the slide may be dented, bubble out or a bad roller
__________________
Rich and Angela, Lab Dogs, Ruben, Ace
2015 Voltage V3895 2006 Lance Truck Camper
2013 Chevy 3500HD 4X4 CC DRW LB Bags Husky 26K Hitch Can Am Commander 1000 ATV
RVNevada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 04:03 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
KeithE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 64
California
I will take a close look at that, thanks!!
__________________
2015 Voltage V3605
2012 Ford F-350 CC SRW
KeithE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 04:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by HornedToad View Post
I looked for his post about the repair but couldn't find it... I'll send you the link when he responds to my PM.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
PM from avvidclif on Heartland Forum about cable slide repair...

I thought I sent a reply yesterday but evidently hit the wrong button. It turned out the gearbox had broken off a few teeth and that was what caused the "hitch" in it's git-a-long. The gearbox had stripped a few teeth and when it hit the "open spot" it stopped. A nudge and it continued on. I replaced the gearbox. Evidently when I "adjusted" the cables when I thought they were too loose I got some too tight and overloaded the gearbox. I set them all up loose "by the book" after getting a new gearbox and haven't had any problems since. IIRC the cost on a new one was abt $200. They sent me one under warranty.

Clif & Millie
2009 F350 CC Lariat Edition SRW Diesel
2015 Cyclone CY3418 Toy Hauler w/Sailun shoes and TST 507 watching them
2005 HD FXDI Super Glide
__________________

__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×