V3605 Fireplace and Subwoofer - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2014, 11:32 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
jonthefireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin Metro
Posts: 69
Texas
V3605 Fireplace and Subwoofer

Just FYI.....for those 3605 owners.

So I was dying to figure out where they mounted the subwoofer, if there actually was one. So the general conclusion was if there was one, it would likely be behind the fireplace. I pulled the fireplace out yesterday, which was very easy, and sure enough there it was.

Here are some pics if anyone is interested. The space was decently clean, found a few screws and some construction waste but overall it was a nightmare. The wires were not zip tied at all, they left those hanging just like they fell. I cleaned the area up a bit.

On the sub, they had all the volume and freq controls all down to minimums. If you want to hear your sub, I highly recommend getting behind there and making some adjustments.

Heading out to the X-Games in a few hours....1st time out "boondocking".
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140605_092449.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	1147   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140605_092754.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	22.6 KB
ID:	1148   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140605_092813.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	35.5 KB
ID:	1149   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140605_092702.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	32.7 KB
ID:	1150   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140605_092651.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	1151  

__________________

__________________
Fireman Jon and Laura
2014 Voltage V 3605
2014 Ram 2500 HD 6.4L Hemi
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic '07 Heritage Softail 2011 Polaris Sportsman 550 EPS
jonthefireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 02:39 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Another thing to add to my to-do list.
__________________

__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 04:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
soonernation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sanger
Posts: 258
Texas
Jon - I assume you will be dry camping out at COTA. Please post up on your experience as I'm thinking of doing the same for MotoGP next year. I stayed at a campground this year when I was down there but having the ability to walk back to my trailer when I want a beverage or to chill would be nice.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200
2014 Ford F350 DRW
www.facebook.com/VoltageToyHauler
soonernation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 02:54 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Peyton
Posts: 93
Colorado
Jon,
I have not looked that deeply into how the fireplace is mounted. I see you said it was easy to pull, what is securing it into place?
__________________
2014 Voltage V3605
2016 Chevrolet 3500 CCLB DRW
bigcntry13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
That's my question...how is the fireplace attached?

I need to get in behind the cabinets above the fireplace to wire in some DirecTV Sender/Receiver sets. Knowing how much extra coax there is, would be very helpful!!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Peyton
Posts: 93
Colorado
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
That's my question...how is the fireplace attached?

I need to get in behind the cabinets above the fireplace to wire in some DirecTV Sender/Receiver sets. Knowing how much extra coax there is, would be very helpful!!

Pirate
Pirate 4 screws is all that holds it in and it slides right out. There is a black cover that's covers screws, lift up and comes right off
__________________
2014 Voltage V3605
2016 Chevrolet 3500 CCLB DRW
bigcntry13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 12:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Thanks for that info!!

I will be working in the trailer next week, and glad to have the info at hand!

Thanks again,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 02:46 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jonthefireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin Metro
Posts: 69
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by soonernation View Post
Jon - I assume you will be dry camping out at COTA. Please post up on your experience as I'm thinking of doing the same for MotoGP next year. I stayed at a campground this year when I was down there but having the ability to walk back to my trailer when I want a beverage or to chill would be nice.
Sorry, it was a long weekend! Yes, i went cheap and "boondocked" out at COTA. So here's my two cents, for what its worth. It was $200 difference between the dry lot and the full hookups lot, distance wise about the same. The dry lot is gravel access roads with pasture style spots, 20X40 was what they gave us. They hired a local RV rental company to come out and "manage" the weekend, and they were pretty strict on the rules (generator off by 1am, no driving after 11, etc).

For us, its a no brainer, next year we will opt for full hookups. The heat alone at night was miserable, we love air conditioning and the ability to shower as many times a day as we want is worth every penny! We hated the dust at the dry lot too.
__________________
Fireman Jon and Laura
2014 Voltage V 3605
2014 Ram 2500 HD 6.4L Hemi
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic '07 Heritage Softail 2011 Polaris Sportsman 550 EPS
jonthefireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Pulled mine out last night very clean & neat. My only problem is when I turned the subwoofer up some I got nothing but hum & feedback. Something seems to be either wired wrong or this subwoofer is N/G. Sure not going to take it back for warranty as vacation is just a couple of weeks away. Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
You could connect an audio source directly to the woofer to see if it's TU or not. Something with a decent output will drive the speaker, an old radio for example.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 12:06 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
jonthefireman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Austin Metro
Posts: 69
Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by DesertRat View Post
Pulled mine out last night very clean & neat. My only problem is when I turned the subwoofer up some I got nothing but hum & feedback. Something seems to be either wired wrong or this subwoofer is N/G. Sure not going to take it back for warranty as vacation is just a couple of weeks away. Anyone have any ideas?

I don't think the sub is necessarily an "audio/music" sub, I think it's actually more for tv/movies. I could be wrong, but I felt it gave off the same vibe's as my home theater sub which led me to believe it was for just that. It didn't have the "punch" that my subs in my truck have, so that was my conclusion.
__________________
Fireman Jon and Laura
2014 Voltage V 3605
2014 Ram 2500 HD 6.4L Hemi
2010 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic '07 Heritage Softail 2011 Polaris Sportsman 550 EPS
jonthefireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 03:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Well found the problem. Son & I connected a DVD player to it with different cables & sub-woofer worked fine. We then pulled out the Sony unit in the V3605 & connected the same cables & played the same DVD got nothing but hum & feedback. So the problem is with the Sony unit. We just put the sub-woofer back up & didn't connect the audio cables to it. It's a warranty thing but sure not worth taking it back for that to my dealer.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:37 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Hmmm....interesting. Our 2014 Epic 3800 has a subwoofer that's about 12" tall x 12" wide x 14" long.

Behind the fireplace is the framing, but no plywood from the "basement" side. Its just open, with wires and tubing everywhere. The subwoofer is right next to the central vacuum system.

There seems to be only and on/off switch on the subwoofer and I can't reach that far!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:33 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
splash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Elizabeth
Posts: 120
Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
Hmmm....interesting. Our 2014 Epic 3800 has a subwoofer that's about 12" tall x 12" wide x 14" long.

Behind the fireplace is the framing, but no plywood from the "basement" side. Its just open, with wires and tubing everywhere. The subwoofer is right next to the central vacuum system.

There seems to be only and on/off switch on the subwoofer and I can't reach that far!

Pirate
mine is same as pirate....
__________________
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2007 Freightliner M2 106
Yamaha Rhino & YZ450F
splash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2014, 06:14 AM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warrensburg
Posts: 1
Missouri
I had the same issue with my sub. What I determined is since the rca cables were routed together with the 12v power lines, the power line was bleeding interference into the rca wires. What I did was installed a noise filter commonly used in car audio applications which cleaned up the signal and now the sub works. You could also try shielded rca cables and separating the power line from the rca cable. Hope this helps,
hcastudillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 04:21 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcastudillo View Post
I had the same issue with my sub. What I determined is since the rca cables were routed together with the 12v power lines, the power line was bleeding interference into the rca wires. What I did was installed a noise filter commonly used in car audio applications which cleaned up the signal and now the sub works. You could also try shielded rca cables and separating the power line from the rca cable. Hope this helps,
Thanks I'll look into that after vacation. Have more pressing needs to get done. One week & counting.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 04:47 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fremont
Posts: 12
California
I had the same problem with my powered sub not putting out and bass in my 2014 V3305. My REI 150 watt sub was hung from wood framing behind the faux brick panel on the fireplace. All of the sound settings were at minimum level so I turned them all up about halfway (to your personal preference) and it sounds great for music, tv and blu rays now! Some deep bass vibrates the wall panel a bit sometimes. Make sure the auto on switch is on or the remote turn on wire is hooked up fyi.
__________________
2014 Voltage V3350
2007 F350 4X4 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke
DB03Z06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 07:23 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 10
California
Did anyone notice if the there was a remote turn on wire hooked up? My v3605 doesn't. I have the green power light on but it's not working. Any idea?
Bryblaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 07:33 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Fremont
Posts: 12
California
The remote turn on wire wasn't hooked up in my 3305 either. It doesn't need to be if the auto on switch on the sub is turned on. Did you try turning up the bass levels on the sub? There are a few of them on my REI brand 150 watt powered sub. My sub sounds good now after turning them up to the desired level. It just vibrates the wall panel beneath it sometimes now. I need to do something to fix that now..
__________________

__________________
2014 Voltage V3350
2007 F350 4X4 Lariat 6.0 Powerstroke
DB03Z06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×