Using new and old batteries - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2017, 05:13 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 57
California
Using new and old batteries

I am wanting to upgrade my battery in my trailer to some large 6v golf car batteries. In my research I have come across the Perko battery selector switch. It got me thinking if, when I add a couple of 6v golf car batteries and keep the original 12v battery that the trailer came with I could use the 12v battery as a backup to start the generator if I drained the 6v's too much.

I want to reiterate the fact that I would only be using the 12v as an emergency backup when the 6v's are too low to start the generator. I do not plan on using both the 12v and 6v's at the same time. That being said I do have to ask anyways. Is it unsafe if the switch was accidently put on both batteries if they have different amp ratings? Is this a bad idea?
__________________

__________________
2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 Superduty, 6.7L Powerstroke, 4x4, Crew Cab, Long Bed
Mr. Mohon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:22 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,302
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mohon View Post
I am wanting to upgrade my battery in my trailer to some large 6v golf car batteries. In my research I have come across the Perko battery selector switch. It got me thinking if, when I add a couple of 6v golf car batteries and keep the original 12v battery that the trailer came with I could use the 12v battery as a backup to start the generator if I drained the 6v's too much.

I want to reiterate the fact that I would only be using the 12v as an emergency backup when the 6v's are too low to start the generator. I do not plan on using both the 12v and 6v's at the same time. That being said I do have to ask anyways. Is it unsafe if the switch was accidently put on both batteries if they have different amp ratings? Is this a bad idea?
Your idea is sound, no problem. If the switch was thrown to both batteries nothing would happen as long as the switch can handle the combined amperage.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 57
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Your idea is sound, no problem. If the switch was thrown to both batteries nothing would happen as long as the switch can handle the combined amperage.
Thanks. I'm glad that would work. When you mention the combined amperage, are you referring to how much amperage is stored in all the batteries combined or just the amps drawn from the batteries? I would think that it would be the draw from the batteries because without draw isn't there no amps going through the switch? Also if I put the switch on both and one bank of the batteries is lower than the other will they equalize out over time since they are now connected together?
__________________
2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 Superduty, 6.7L Powerstroke, 4x4, Crew Cab, Long Bed
Mr. Mohon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,302
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mohon View Post
Thanks. I'm glad that would work. When you mention the combined amperage, are you referring to how much amperage is stored in all the batteries combined or just the amps drawn from the batteries? I would think that it would be the draw from the batteries because without draw isn't there no amps going through the switch? Also if I put the switch on both and one bank of the batteries is lower than the other will they equalize out over time since they are now connected together?
The switch would have to be able to handle the maximum current draw the batteries are capable of providing. No current flowing equals nothing through the switch or essentially out of the batteries.
All batteries would have to be of the same capacity to equalize. The smaller capacity battery would control the amount of charge by being full quicker. For actual equalization a battery bank has to be held at a higher than normal charging voltage for a few extra hours.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:31 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 57
California
So in all reality it when it comes to charging the battery it would be best to charge one bank and then the other. Which I don't see this being a problem because I plan on having the 12v volt as a reserve battery almost solely for starting the generator in an emergency.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RV Battery Schematic.pdf (63.4 KB, 23 views)
__________________
2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 Superduty, 6.7L Powerstroke, 4x4, Crew Cab, Long Bed
Mr. Mohon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 10:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 57
California
Also, do I need to add in another vent hose or can I just "T" into the existing one? I don't know how much venting is required per battery. I am guessing that I would probably just be safer to add a new vent hose.
__________________
2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 Superduty, 6.7L Powerstroke, 4x4, Crew Cab, Long Bed
Mr. Mohon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 01:22 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,302
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Mohon View Post
Also, do I need to add in another vent hose or can I just "T" into the existing one? I don't know how much venting is required per battery. I am guessing that I would probably just be safer to add a new vent hose.
If you don't hard charge the batteries and make them off gas more than normal one vent will work but another one won't hurt at all.

Charge each battery or battery bank at a time for best results.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 04:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 57
California
Thanks a lot Sundancer 87. I really appreciate all of your advice.
__________________

__________________
2016 Dutchmen Voltage 3200
2017 Ford F-350 Superduty, 6.7L Powerstroke, 4x4, Crew Cab, Long Bed
Mr. Mohon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.