Sliding Storage Tray - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2016, 11:52 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 66
Texas
Sliding Storage Tray

Looking at installing a 90" sliding storage tray in the basement of my Voltage 3905. Does anyone know what's under the pass-thru storage floor? Also, any idea what the thickness of the basement floor plywood might be? I don't want to wind up running a screw into my water tank or anything else for that matter.
Also, searched but didn't find anything, does anyone have one installed already and have pic's, pointers, etc.

Thanks,

Burl
__________________

Burl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 11:27 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
I know it's a different model, but my grey and blackwater tanks are under there in mine. I had to run screws in there for my basement remodel. Pull one of of the grey thin wall panels near your water pump and you can see the floor good where the holes are for the water lines to see thickness.
__________________

__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 06:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 66
Texas
Thanks for the info.....definitely dont want to punture one of those tanks.
Burl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 07:21 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Fort Bragg
Posts: 36
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burl View Post
Thanks for the info.....definitely dont want to punture one of those tanks.

I have a 3905 and I have had the belly open to install the electric valves in the black and grey tanks. My memory is a little fuzzy but I do not remember the tanks being that far forward. To be safe, you should peel the front of the belly back just to see what is there.
bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2016, 07:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
The tray I installed was as long as what you are wanting to install. If I remember correctly I used self tapping screws that were about a 1" long.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0405.jpg
Views:	158
Size:	53.9 KB
ID:	2963

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0406.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	2964
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:05 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
If you crawl into the basement a ways and take the screws out of the long center section of the rearward basement vertical wall...you'll be able to see everything under the basement floor and how thick the basement floor is.

I took mine off to find a tiny water leak in a PEX clamp....that was more than a year ago and still haven't gotten around to putting it back in. Not really sure I want to!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 11:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,301
Wyoming
Hey Mike...

I got a couple of those same trays when you told us about them last year, and mounted my cord reel on it just like yours. But, I got a question for ya. Have you found, or do you use anything to keep the tray from sliding back & forth while rolling up your power cord?

Mine constantly moves in & out as I'm turning the handle to wind the cord. I've tried cutting a couple of wood wedges to use in the slider, but they break after 2 or 3 uses. It's not really a big thing, but just a nuisance that I haven't been able to find a good cure for as yet.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 03:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Burl,

Can I ask you to share the info on the tray you are looking to install?

Interested...

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 09:34 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
Burl,

Can I ask you to share the info on the tray you are looking to install?

Interested...

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate - I believe these are what he is referring to. They are great!

Kwikee Superslide II - 90in Deep Slide Out Cargo Tray-pplmotorhomes.com
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 12:23 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCguy View Post
Hey Mike...

I got a couple of those same trays when you told us about them last year, and mounted my cord reel on it just like yours. But, I got a question for ya. Have you found, or do you use anything to keep the tray from sliding back & forth while rolling up your power cord?

Mine constantly moves in & out as I'm turning the handle to wind the cord. I've tried cutting a couple of wood wedges to use in the slider, but they break after 2 or 3 uses. It's not really a big thing, but just a nuisance that I haven't been able to find a good cure for as yet.
Tom,

Are there any holes in the rails that you could put a hairpin clip through, or perhaps you can drill a hole trough the rails. You can find some pretty big hairpin or hitch clips out there, I have a variety of them in my tool box. Most of them get used for something other than the intended purpose.
__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 03:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCguy View Post
Hey Mike...

I got a couple of those same trays when you told us about them last year, and mounted my cord reel on it just like yours. But, I got a question for ya. Have you found, or do you use anything to keep the tray from sliding back & forth while rolling up your power cord?

Mine constantly moves in & out as I'm turning the handle to wind the cord. I've tried cutting a couple of wood wedges to use in the slider, but they break after 2 or 3 uses. It's not really a big thing, but just a nuisance that I haven't been able to find a good cure for as yet.
Tom
If you look at my pictures close you will see I store those lock together levelers. They are a perfect fit & put pressure on the under side of the slide when out. Mine still moves but not enough to be a problem.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 08:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
So the slides are in lengths, but it talks about width being set by width of the basement. Yet nothing on where one can enter that.

So to they come as two halves and one sets the width when installing?

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 09:27 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
You can cut to length of needed. I actually cut one and rewelded width to fit next to wet closet. You get then in pieces and rivet frames together
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 09:33 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
I'll try to take a look again for the page I used to order mine and get that to you Pirate.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 10:57 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Pirate - use this site:

Kwikee Super Slide II for RV Compartments-pplmotorhomes.com

Part way down, you see "length" that that is how long the sides of the drawer are (the depth if you will).

Under that are the trim kits - those are what determine the width of the drawer. I cut both my trim kits down to make them fit my 3950. Once I have the AGS installed in my inverter system in the coming weeks, I will be mounting the drawers. Attached are few pics showing where I cut and welded the trim kits to get the width I needed and also of the rivets that hold it together - the rivets and heavy steel ones.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160314_182546.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	2969   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160314_182553.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	2970   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160314_182602.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	2971  
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:28 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Don,
Those are the ones I have been looking at from another link in the post. I sort of permanently mounted a pancake air compressor in the driver side of my basement. So I have air for the TrailAir hitch, tires, and blowing the dust out of the RZR when we get back to camp. So I need to measure for how long a slide I can use.

Thanks for the pics...those are helpful!

Guess measuring comes next. That may be next week tho...here in Southern Colorado...howling winds all week!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 07:49 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Lucky for me I have onboard air on the truck for those things. As you can probably tell, I have more projects lined up than I have time for! Which model RZR do you have? We have a 2014 900XP4 that I have modded pretty good and love it. It is street legal so we love it even more.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 08:33 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Don,

I have a 2009 RZR 800 that is still about 5% stock. You name it, I've done it. 2014 XP900 blueprinted front diff. Rear diff reworked with HPD cases. Holz stage III motor, but now with added Crank Works pinned and welded stroker crank...and the list goes on..and on..and on!

But, have new Polaris General Deluxe on order, hoping it gets to the dealer this week!!!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 10:56 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Spring Valley
Posts: 77
California
Yea, I wanted to get one of thise slides for my 287RE. Which has the storage all the way forward.

Problem is I'm using a Tundra and I need more weight back aft not forward.
__________________
2016 Dutchman Denali 287RE
2008 Toyota Tundra Limited
http://s244.photobucket.com/user/Lilkinsly/slideshow/Trailer
MikeF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 03:32 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Don,

Looks like I can use a 60" long sliding tray, but the basement is only 15 1/2" wide. So I guess I'll be cutting the end pieces down pretty substantially. Having done it, do you see any issues with cutting 24" ends to 15"?

Thanks,
Pirate
__________________

Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×