Satellite wiring diagram - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2016, 02:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 218
Virginia
Satellite wiring diagram

Looking for advise from any of you Satellite gurus. I am trying to set the RV up with options on the fly. I have drawn out my thoughts and that is not easy to do! lol

I am running a SWM satellite that is on a Tripod. Want to be able to switch over to antenna easy during travel and set up Sat. when we arrive at our camp site.

I am currently hooking up an HD box but I may transfer the Genie from the house out to the RV after we get Comcast hooked up to the house. Will probably only run two boxes, one in the Living room and One in the bedroom.

Any help would be appreciated!
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Satellite.pdf (165.8 KB, 160 views)
__________________

__________________

Phil
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2016 Ram 3500 Diesel 4wd, Long Horn Dually long bed
Moto4play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:49 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
Hmmm on my setup to switch from satellite to antenna is just a matter of changing source on my remote control for TV. HDMI 1 is satellite and TV/cable/air is antenna
__________________

__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 02:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 218
Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soccerloco View Post
Hmmm on my setup to switch from satellite to antenna is just a matter of changing source on my remote control for TV. HDMI 1 is satellite and TV/cable/air is antenna
How is it wired in?
__________________

Phil
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2016 Ram 3500 Diesel 4wd, Long Horn Dually long bed
Moto4play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 02:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
I have a traveler antenna with directv. Have a coaxial cable coming from my antenna hooking directly to each of my two direc receivers. I do not use any of rv wiring for satellite. As a result quality of reception is perfect and it did not affect my antenna tv reception. So now if I am traveling and want local channels all I have to do is crank antenna and change source on remote. I understand you have sat antenna on tripod which in this case could make things a bit difficult
__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 12:07 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Brighton
Posts: 35
Colorado
Not sure why but on mine I had to disconnect the power splitter on mine to get Hopper Dish antenna to work.
bkuuz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 02:15 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
I think that you used existing wiring for sat. I brought coaxial from antenna in through the roof directly to sat receiver. Didn't change anything with existing crank up antenna.
__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2016, 07:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkuuz1 View Post
Not sure why but on mine I had to disconnect the power splitter on mine to get Hopper Dish antenna to work.
When you apply power, you are actually activating an amplifier for the roof mounted antenna that will override your satellite dish signal.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 12:59 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minden
Posts: 689
Nevada
moto4play, I use to have a portable Sat Antenna, I couldn't get HD, because the connection in the wet area for outside antennas went to their splitter and their splitter doesn't have any power to it, I then ran my own wiring from the portable Sat Antenna to the wet area and to the main TV, it worked but still no HD.. so I changed to Direct TV Traveler Antenna, and left the voltage wiring alone.... I have the new Sat Antenna connected to all 4 TV's...Good Luck
__________________
Rich and Angela, Lab Dogs, Ruben, Ace
2015 Voltage V3895 2006 Lance Truck Camper
2013 Chevy 3500HD 4X4 CC DRW LB Bags Husky 26K Hitch Can Am Commander 1000 ATV
RVNevada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 01:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
I agree rich hooking via existing Rv sat wiring doesn't work well. Keeping crank up antenna and sat separate works best for me!!
__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 01:19 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 218
Virginia
Does anyone know how to share a signal from a receiver to additional TVs? They use to have an RF out, they don't seem to have that any longer.

I was able to witch the splitter out for a power splitter and a 4-way Green label from Directv. I seemed to get all the channels.

I guess best route is to send the satellite directly to the living room and use the Genie with the additional boxes being wireless.
__________________

Phil
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2016 Ram 3500 Diesel 4wd, Long Horn Dually long bed
Moto4play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 02:53 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Soccerloco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Smith
Posts: 489
Nevada
In my situation I don't have wireless genie. Simply I ran coax from antenna through roof to each receiver. Simple fast and it works perfectly!!
__________________
Bill gran
2014 v3005 voltage
Dodge Ram 2500 bagged stock
Soccerloco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 04:40 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 744
Arizona
I have wireless Genie with a rooftop Trav'ler. Love it. Watching satellite and over-the-air tv can be done at the same time as satellite uses HDMI and not the trailer's coax. My wireless Genies have nothing to do with the trailer's coax wiring. I also like that all four tv's can be watching different channels at the same time.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 10:42 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 218
Virginia
Does anyone know the easiest way to access the power plug for the outside TV in the galley slide? Voltage 3950. The cord runs down but before I tear everything apart, I was hoping someone else has located it.

I really do not want to fish wires through the ceiling or the floor if I can help it. I also do not want wires running across the roof top either, if I can help it. If we were full timers I would do one or the other but we are just weekenders that enjoy following the NHRA up and down the eats coast.

Not sure if everyone knows but while tracing the coax cables in the RV I found that there is a 5th TV hook up. It is in the loft area in the little cove above and to the left of the pantry. Power and cable.
__________________

Phil
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2016 Ram 3500 Diesel 4wd, Long Horn Dually long bed
Moto4play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 10:45 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Pull the drawer out that is under your stove. I only knew about about the fifth tv because the model we looked at several years ago at a display at a NASCAR track had it on up there
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2016, 10:48 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fredericksburg
Posts: 218
Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
Pull the drawer out that is under your stove. I only knew about about the fifth tv because the model we looked at several years ago at a display at a NASCAR track had it on up there
Awesome. Thanks!
__________________

__________________

Phil
2014 Voltage 3950 Epic III
2016 Ram 3500 Diesel 4wd, Long Horn Dually long bed
Moto4play is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×