Roof Material EPDM TPO or Alpha? - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-23-2015, 12:54 AM   #1

Tennessee
Roof Material EPDM TPO or Alpha?

My brochure In front of me says my roof material is EPDM. I removed a vent cover inside and reveals it is not EPDM. EPDM has a black backing, a TPO, or Alpha has a white backing and is textured whereas EPDM has a smooth surface.

Now since its not EPDM, what is it TPO or Alpha??? sealers used on EPDM are not to be used on TPO or Alpha roofing material... found this video while searching and saw a Voltage in the video. Guess it answers my question.

So why would my brochure show EPDM... maybe Dutchman didnt know what they used!

Old 03-23-2015, 01:43 AM   #2
Site Team

North Carolina
TPO can have a black backing, just not the stuff Dutchmen uses. I install single ply roofs for a living. The commercial TPO has reinforcing scrim and is multi-layered. The RV stuff is not as strong. From what I can find Alpha is a fleece back TPO that allows for better adhesive adhesion. TPO is a generic term and covers a lot of territory in roof formulations.

Aaron

wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 02:12 AM   #3

Tennessee

Thanks Aaron. Good to know. Your all set if you have any roofing problems. Found this video too. This is what made me check. Mine does not have the fleece.
Old 03-23-2015, 10:45 AM   #4
Site Team

North Carolina