Propane Quick Connect - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2013, 11:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
Propane Quick Connect

Well, I finally got my BBQ propane quick connect installed correctly. On the high pressure side. It was easy enough to move from where I had it originally. On the (wrong) low pressures side.

__________________

arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 12:44 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
OK, after all my work (not much), I find another grill that is designed to work off of the low pressure side of the propane system. And they offer an option to run it on the high pressure side. It's hard to win at this when you don't really know what your doing.

Amazon.com: Camco 57305 Olympian 5500 Stainless Steel Portable Grill: Automotive
__________________

arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 10:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
I don't know if you would be happy with the low pressure stove.....we had one on our Sunline....used it for years....only because we didn't have a solution for using the quick connect with a high pressure stove.....once we stopped using the quick connect with a high pressure stove we realized what we were missing as far as the heat on the stove.......

Arlan where do you store your propane hose - can you take an overall picture with the cover off.......

Thanks!
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 02:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana & Poppy View Post
I don't know if you would be happy with the low pressure stove.....we had one on our Sunline....used it for years....only because we didn't have a solution for using the quick connect with a high pressure stove.....once we stopped using the quick connect with a high pressure stove we realized what we were missing as far as the heat on the stove.......

Arlan where do you store your propane hose - can you take an overall picture with the cover off.......

Thanks!
I can take a picture but I am not sure what you been by "overall picture with the cover off". Also, I haven't stored the hose yet but, but being a quick connect hose I imagine I could store it anywhere. I would most likely just store it in my general hose storage container. I will get some pictures today and get them up for you.

I was trying to upgrade BBQ's so thanks for the heads up. Although I read all the reviews on Amazon and I don't think I found a single review that complained about not enough heat. There were other complaint, sharp edges, failing spot welds, hose not long enough etc.

Also you stated above ".....once we stopped using the quick connect with a high pressure stove we realized what we were missing as far as the heat on the stove......." Did you mean low pressure?

Arlan
arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 03:54 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
Arlan...yes the low pressure.

As far as the picture....I was wondering how/where the hose was stored...if you have not done so....then I guess I'll wait until you put it on and ask that you post a picture then.

Wondering how hard it will be to reach the quick connect with the propane cover on. Thinking out loud!
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 04:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
Pictures

Here are some pictures of the whole deal. Grill setup, quick connect etc. I just open the door for the propane tank, feed the hose up the open are and plug it in behind the tank. You have to consider what is going to be accessible and not when installing the tee and quick connect.

Picture with propane tank removed.


I suppose you could just store it here using a Velcro wrap to secure it.

arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 04:25 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
More

Here are some more pictures. After I selected Preview Post I got stuck adding anything.







arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 05:41 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Nana & Poppy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Forge
Posts: 886
New York
AHHHHH!!!!! we have our tanks mounted on the tongue and have a propane cover........we'll have to look at it more closely......your setup makes it easy to leave it right in the compartment.

Thanks for taking the photos!
__________________
Kathy & Leo ~Adirondack Mtn. Region of NY
2013 Rubicon 2900 Toy hauler
2010 Ford F-350 4x4 Lariat Dually Super Crew Diesel
Nana & Poppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:30 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 592
Nevada
Quote:
Originally Posted by arlan in arizona View Post
Here are some pictures of the whole deal. Grill setup, quick connect etc. I just open the door for the propane tank, feed the hose up the open are and plug it in behind the tank. You have to consider what is going to be accessible and not when installing the tee and quick connect.

Picture with propane tank removed.


I suppose you could just store it here using a Velcro wrap to secure it.

Question: Seeing the connection it looks like only one of the tanks is going to feed the quick connect? Am I seeing correct.
What would if that tank goes empty , and you are cooking something important?
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:37 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by eightydo View Post
Question: Seeing the connection it looks like only one of the tanks is going to feed the quick connect? Am I seeing correct.
What would if that tank goes empty , and you are cooking something important?
You are correct on that. If you want high pressure LP you have to choose one tank or the other. I run the RV off of the other tank. If I ran out of propane using the BBQ I would also be out of LP for everything else. Good call though. I need to be sure to set the regulator to draw off of the passenger side tank. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.
__________________

arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.