Happy-Jac won't operate - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2016, 08:09 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
Happy-Jac won't operate

We're packing up to leave, and when I push the Happi-Jac up button, nothing happens. I checked the fuses, and connections by the white box by the control box on the ceiling. Is the an inline fuse hidden somewhere?

Other than unbolting the benches, is there any way to manually crank it up?
__________________

__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 01:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,301
Wyoming
Paul...

Here's the owners manual, including troubleshooting & manual override.

http://happijac.com/images/pdfs/Bed-...Manual2012.pdf

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 04:03 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
Thanks Tom,

I found the trouble shooting guide online. Ended up pulling the motor connection, and releasing the brake. Used a socket and ratchet to crank it up, not fun, but got it done. Put the motor brake back on to hold it.

Will need to trouble shoot when we get home. They couldn't have put the motor and controller in a harder place to get to.

Something electrical is up. When I pulled the fuse to check it, the red light on the panel did not come on to show an open circuit.
__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 11:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
After you pull the fuse, go to the motor and disconnect one leg at a time, if/when the light comes on, that should get you going in the right direction.

Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2016, 11:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 744
Arizona
I've had similar issues and found the problem to be the wall switch.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by calewjohnson View Post
After you pull the fuse, go to the motor and disconnect one leg at a time, if/when the light comes on, that should get you going in the right direction.

Cale
I noticed the light in the electric panel does not come on when I pull the fuse. Is this the light you are referring to? Are you suggesting I cut/disconnect the individual wires to the motor, or pull the connectors, one at a time, from the controller? It appears that there are four connectors on the controller. If the light lights when I pull one, with the fuse removed, what does that tell me?
__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 04:59 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by azdryheat View Post
I've had similar issues and found the problem to be the wall switch.
Where does one get a replacement wall switch? I pulled it off the wall, seems to be more than a simple switch with a small circuit board.
__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 09:12 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
Sorry, in my haste, I misread your post, I was thinking the light was on....i.e. Blown fuse. In which case, disconnecting wires and adding one at a time until you found a short would work.

You could verify if there is power at the switch, with and without the fuse in, this tell you the proper status of the light. (Working or not).

Those little red lights aren't the most dependable, unsure if it is the shoddy work,an ship of Dutchmen or what. The fuse for my WiFi Ranger will light up even if a good fuse is in it...I put firm pressure on it and it will go out. Sometimes the silly thing is illuminated when we get off the road.

Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 11:42 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by calewjohnson View Post
The fuse for my WiFi Ranger will light up even if a good fuse is in it...I put firm pressure on it and it will go out. Sometimes the silly thing is illuminated when we get off the road.

Cale
Not to hijack this thread, but Cale - what fuse is for the WiFi Ranger? As you are well aware, they are marked as thought a three-year-olds with a crayon was let loose in there...
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:19 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by donzinger View Post
Not to hijack this thread, but Cale - what fuse is for the WiFi Ranger? As you are well aware, they are marked as thought a three-year-olds with a crayon was let loose in there...
Let me verify when I get home, but I think it was the 5th fuse from the top (Living Room??). I only found it because the WiFi Ranger folks asked me to reset the system to factory settings through a series of power on/power off sequences. I sat in the floor with my phone and pulled the fuses one at a time until I saw the signal disappear...

Cale
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2016, 06:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
I finally had time to call Happijac. Marv in support was great. We went through all the trouble shooting, using a ground to bypass the limit switches. Good news, bed goes up and down. Marv helped me trouble shoot the switch, he suspects the wire. I made up a new "phone cord" (it's straight through, not crossover like a typical phone extension cable). Switch runs the bed, so it has to be the flat cable. I start pulling things out of the wall, and quickly find the issue. The flat cable is cut! Not sure how that happened.

We have a Voltage V 3105, which has dual doors into the garage. The Happijac switch is on the wall between the inside doors. I can't find the other end of the wire. I pulled out the washer plumbing box to get a good look, can't find the other end on the bottom. The wire may run up, as the other end comes out in the ceiling at the top of the Happijac assembly. Anyone have any idea where the other end might be, or tips to find it? I figure splicing it is much easier than trying to fish a whole new cable. Hard to fish a cable if you have no idea where it's supposed to come out.
__________________

__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×