Generator fuel gauge (Digital) flashes red from day one - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2017, 09:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: deatsville
Posts: 35
Alabama
Generator fuel gauge (Digital) flashes red from day one

Ok, 2018 3605 I bought it and during the walk through I noticed the fuel gauge for the generator was flashing red. The tech said he was told to jump two wires and that would correct it. He did and the hour meter went from 0 hours to 25 hours. He said it would continue to flash red and it was normal. In short no fuel gauge readout as to fuel level and to top it off the fuel tanks were labeled backwards. I have since sold the camper but I am trying to assist my buddy to whom I sold it too. I am looking at another TH
at the moment.
__________________

Schuffyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 03:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 40
Arkansas
Interested as I have the same problem with my 17 3605flashes and shows empty even after I have filled it

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
__________________

scottxpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2017, 01:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: deatsville
Posts: 35
Alabama
You'd think they could figure out what the problem is. I do know that the tanks were labeled incorrectly. I'll get under there and look at the sending unit wiring.
Schuffyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 03:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 40
Arkansas
Yes my tanks were labeled backwards also I would like to figure out how to get the gauge working

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
scottxpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 12:33 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 40
Arkansas
Schuffyman you have a look at that sending unit yet ?

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
scottxpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 04:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: deatsville
Posts: 35
Alabama
generator fuel gauge

I spoke to the dealer Service department and they sold two 3605's both with flashing red lights on the gen fuel gauge. they Lady told me that they have reached out to the company concerning the problem. She said she would get back to me but I'm not going to hold my breath.
Schuffyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 07:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: deatsville
Posts: 35
Alabama
I did but it made no sense to me. I think I'd have to lower the tanks and pull the unit out and manipulate the float. I will update the thread if I find out anything. I did talk to the dealer service dept. and they had another one doing it but I haven't heard anything from the. They said that they notified the manufacturer and they were aware of the problem.
Schuffyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 09:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,241
Michigan
Mage has' worked from day one. Took it in under warranty and was first told I had to go thru Onan. Called them out on it and then was told they didn't have the facilities to drop the tank. Will be dropping my tank after Darlington trip next week. Just another reason only to go to General RV to look, kick tires and get ideas - but you'll never catch me spending a dime there.
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2005 Ram 3500 CTD, ATS Aurora 3000, air bags, train horns, Banks hardware, Smarty Jr software, 105 gal aux tank
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2017, 09:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Sioux Falls
Posts: 40
Arkansas
Update on the generator fuel Guage I couldn't take it anymore and was done fixing other issues so I got into the fuel Guage flashing empty issue today .
After removing the sending unit from tank and testing and tracing the wiring I fixed the problem and my Guage works the problem is behind the fuel Guage on the back there are 5 terminals two top two bottom and one in the middle the one in the middle has a black wire connected to it this is the signal wire from the sending unit in the tank the problem is if you follow that wire back it is has another red/black wire coming off of it that is capped with a wire nut this red/black wire is the ground for the sending unit connect it to ground and your Guage will work !
Simple fix but it took hours of tracing and troubleshooting to find hopefully this saves you guys that trouble!!

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
scottxpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2017, 02:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: deatsville
Posts: 35
Alabama
red black wire

Just to be sure, the red black wire (ground) is at the rear of the TH correct?
I'll give it a look this weekend.
__________________

Schuffyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.