Furnace problem - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2018, 01:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Holtwood
Posts: 77
Pennsylvania
Furnace problem

I was running the furnace to keep things around 55 degrees while working on a project. All was working fine. I left it on overnight and at some point ran out of propane. I came out to find the furnace fan running but no heat. I switched tanks and still no heat. Pulled the furnace cover and saw I was getting a flame sensor trouble code. I do have propane as the stove works fine. I could not hear the igniter clicking when I turn on the furnace. I pulled the igniter to find it was working, but I wonder if it is not getting enough juice. Would that be the igniter or the control board. Anything else I should check?
Thanks for any advice
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3200 with 17.5 wheels and disc brakes towed by a 2014 Ram CTD 3500 SRW crew cab short bed
4wlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2018, 01:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,847
Oklahoma
I've emptied a tank or two running the furnace but never experienced your problem.

I think you may need to reset the thermostat in this case.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 01:58 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Blanchester
Posts: 44
Ohio
I've also been there done that. Disconnect your shore power and turn your battery disconnect off for a bit. Kill all the electric to the thermostat and the control board for a bit, I'd bet it will kick on like normal after all the errors clear.
__________________
2015- Voltage 3818.

2013- F-350 White Platinum DRW.
nonsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 11:26 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Holtwood
Posts: 77
Pennsylvania
Furnace is working properly now. Just needed a little time off to reset.
Thanks
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200 with 17.5 wheels and disc brakes towed by a 2014 Ram CTD 3500 SRW crew cab short bed
4wlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 02:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonsense View Post
I've also been there done that. Disconnect your shore power and turn your battery disconnect off for a bit. Kill all the electric to the thermostat and the control board for a bit, I'd bet it will kick on like normal after all the errors clear.
Where does the "drink beer" part come in. Sounds like a six pack fix.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 03:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 96
Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Where does the "drink beer" part come in. Sounds like a six pack fix.
yes that is called a " 2 beer repair " ..sometimes you have to step back and take a couple deep breaths... mostly when it says .. wait for the time out period for the auto start to reset ....but they never say how long that time out period is ....
Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 04:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo View Post
yes that is called a " 2 beer repair " ..sometimes you have to step back and take a couple deep breaths... mostly when it says .. wait for the time out period for the auto start to reset ....but they never say how long that time out period is ....
six pack fix is go away, drink one, if it works, drink the rest
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 04:17 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
joebedford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 326
Ontario
Why did you manually switch tanks?
joebedford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 06:03 AM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Detroit
Posts: 7
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mongo View Post
yes that is called a " 2 beer repair " ..sometimes you have to step back and take a couple deep breaths... mostly when it says .. wait for the time out period for the auto start to reset ....but they never say how long that time out period is ....
Will pepsi work?
Bear N Honeys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 10:52 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Central
Posts: 96
Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear N Honeys View Post
Will pepsi work?
any thing you use to step back and relax with .....
__________________

Mongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×