Furnace Not Working. Attwood 8940-III DCLP - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2015, 03:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
Furnace Not Working. Attwood 8940-III DCLP

I keep getting a ignition lockout fault code. it lights good and is hot coming out of the exhaust then stops ans starts three times then locks out. Good fuel to it. Seems like a flame sensor. maybe a board, but other than those 2 not sure what to check? any ideas?
__________________

walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Before I'd look into replacing parts I'd do a WC pressure test coming from the regulator. If for some reason there's not enough gas pressure going into the furnace it'll fault out. The stove will work and so will the water heater but the furnace needs lots of gas.
For lack of a manometer to test the pressure you could always use a known good regulator and a stand alone tank to see if it will stay lit.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
what preseure regulator do i need going into it?
walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:24 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Any off the shelf LP regulator will work most likely. They all work on 11"wc so whatever will get you connected to it will be fine. You might connect at the furnace or the main supply line or bypass the OEM regulator and connect there.
I don't see what kind of RV you have but it would be helpful to know for troubleshooting.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
3895

voltage 2013 3895
walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:46 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
OK, that helps. You have two propane tanks with a dual stage automatic switchover regulator I believe.
I've had poor results from the Camco regulator in my 2013 3800, that's why I went there first. I've replaced two of them and when the last one died I just go out a change tanks.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 09:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
k gonna try that first. If i want to check the flame sensor do I have to pull the entire furnace out? how do i get at it?
walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
I haven't had the pleasure of taking one of these guys apart, yet, but I would bet the flame sensor along with the sail switch is inside the furnace proper. Sail switches cause problems too so might as well check it too.


Have you checked the flue for blockage? Might be mud dauber's nest or wasp's in there if you have them in the GWN.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 10:23 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by walleyesb2 View Post
k gonna try that first. If i want to check the flame sensor do I have to pull the entire furnace out? how do i get at it?
Give this a look
Attached Files
File Type: pdf hflamefurn04.pdf (1.51 MB, 375 views)
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
cleaned the flame sensor and furnace ia working. Although back to the way it was, but now that i whatch it, it lights and goes off alot and the fan continues to run. seems not right, but i get no codes and it heats up....?
walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 05:23 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Regina
Posts: 60
Saskatchewan
normal

ia this normal for these typ was of furnaces? because the heat exchangers are so small. for the flame to cut in and out alot?
walleyesb2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 10:12 AM   #12
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
It may cycle more than a home furnace because of the smaller size vs the space it has to heat. Where are you that you can run a furnace this time of year? My thermostat won't go high enough for it to cut on around here.

Yes the fan will continue to run until the thing cools down. Or you may have the fan switch set to constant rather than auto. I have a low tech system, my fan only works on auto.

Aaron
__________________

__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×